BCT15 doesn't show groups?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kenisned

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
626
Location
Unincorporated Arapahoe
While scanning, the BCT15 doesn't show groups while scanning? It only shows the system. If you press the function key then the groups show.

Is there someway to change that? I love that I can look at my 996 and tell what groups are scanning.

Thanks
 

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
I just bought a BCT15 and it doesn't show the groups while scanning. I wish it did but I can live with it.
 

jaymatt1978

Member
Joined
May 18, 2003
Messages
1,605
Location
Cape May,NJ
I believe that particular function is the same both the BCT15 AND the BCT996. I have been having the same problem where one quickkey seems to turn off when I leave the radio off for a while. I have the quick key enabled but I always have to manually scroll through and unlock the system. Just one of the quirks I haven't firgured out yet
 

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
Highpockets said:
Why didn't you go for the extra bucks and get the 996?
I don't have anything digital in my area, and living on SSD really doesn't lend me to buying a $500 scanner. I bought one od the "Like New" BCT15's from UnidenDirect with part of my $300 stimulus payment :)
 

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
n2mdk said:
I don't have anything digital in my area, and living on SSD really doesn't lend me to buying a $500 scanner. I bought one od the "Like New" BCT15's from UnidenDirect with part of my $300 stimulus payment :)
Don't expect digital anytime soon near you? I'm waiting for my check, then I'll get either get the 996 or 600, still 50-50 on what I'll get, leaning to the 996, always had good luck with uniden scanners, not liking what I'm seeing with the upgrades though.
 

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
Highpockets said:
Don't expect digital anytime soon near you? I'm waiting for my check, then I'll get either get the 996 or 600, still 50-50 on what I'll get, leaning to the 996, always had good luck with uniden scanners, not liking what I'm seeing with the upgrades though.
I really don't expect digital here anytime soon. The 2 trunked systems used by both Ames ans ISU are leased there is so much stuff on those systems it would mean a major infrastructure change.
 

andrewccm

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
284
Location
Dallas/Fort Worth
Highpockets said:
Don't expect digital anytime soon near you? I'm waiting for my check, then I'll get either get the 996 or 600, still 50-50 on what I'll get, leaning to the 996, always had good luck with uniden scanners, not liking what I'm seeing with the upgrades though.
For the record, I recently got a BCT15 and find it a great scanner. I have the 396T and find the BCT15 a heck of a scanner for the price if you don't require digital. My 396 does fine for the 2 digital sites here in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. For the hundreds of others..the BCT15 is excellent for $200.
 

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
kenisned said:
I already own four digital scanners and this scanner was given to me for free!
It would be a cold day in hell before anyone gave me anything for free, I even try praying, nothing works! :)
 

kenisned

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
626
Location
Unincorporated Arapahoe
Highpockets said:
It would be a cold day in hell before anyone gave me anything for free, I even try praying, nothing works! :)
Actually, i'm a dispatcher for First Responder Wireless News and I accumulated enough points paging out jobs that I got a free scanner. I could've waited a few more months for a 996, but I'm too impatient.
 

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,796
Location
New Jersey
kenisned said:
Actually, i'm a dispatcher for First Responder Wireless News and I accumulated enough points paging out jobs that I got a free scanner. I could've waited a few more months for a 996, but I'm too impatient.
Good for you, no job I ever worked for gave me anything for nothing, if your still accumulating points, I guess the 996 is next! Sounds like a great job.
 

kenisned

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
626
Location
Unincorporated Arapahoe
Highpockets said:
Good for you, no job I ever worked for gave me anything for nothing, if your still accumulating points, I guess the 996 is next! Sounds like a great job.
It's really a hobby... i do it when I can. I'm listening to the scanner anyway, so why not get something out of it. yanno?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top