Best Antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

scannerpro

I’m new to scanning 800/900Mhz Phase 1 systems on a PRO-96. What is a good antenna BNC connection? I’m attempting to listen to a system about 50 miles away from my residence. Would a “Rubber Duck” antenna or a discone antenna be better? Would it even be able to pick up the system?
Thank you.

bob550

Premium Subscriber
A good portable antenna is the Remtronix 800 (Remtronix 800). However, receiving a digital signal, and maintaining a good decode, from a 50-mile distance will be challenging to impossible. If you were to try, your best bet would be a directional 800 MHz yagi antenna (800 Mhz Yagi) mounted as high as possible outside your house. Even then, you'd need to have no natural or man-made obstructions between you and the transmitting tower. Using a discone antenna mounted 20 feet up, I have no luck receiving a P25 system 30 miles to my North, and that's using my Unication G5 which is a very sensitive receiver.

N1XDS

ÆS Ø
I’m new to scanning 800/900Mhz Phase 1 systems on a PRO-96. What is a good antenna BNC connection? I’m attempting to listen to a system about 50 miles away from my residence. Would a “Rubber Duck” antenna or a discone antenna be better? Would it even be able to pick up the system?
Thank you.
A good portable antenna is the Remtronix 800 (Remtronix 800). However, receiving a digital signal, and maintaining a good decode, from a 50-mile distance will be challenging to impossible. If you were to try, your best bet would be a directional 800 MHz yagi antenna (800 Mhz Yagi) mounted as high as possible outside your house. Even then, you'd need to have no natural or man-made obstructions between you and the transmitting tower. Using a discone antenna mounted 20 feet up, I have no luck receiving a P25 system 30 miles to my North, and that's using my Unication G5 which is a very sensitive receiver.