Best Mag Mount Mobile Antenna For a HomePatrol 2?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greg43545

From reading other threads here I know this can be a loaded question, but I would appreciate input on any antenna one might recommend as the best Magnetic Mobile Antenna available for a HomePatrol 2 and why.

I have done some searching on the web and have found the Procomm 290M/SMA which seems to be a good antenna.

Scanner Radio Mini Magnet Mount Mobile Scanner Antenna - w/SMA Connector

It is the size, type, and approximate budget I have in mind, but again I'm open to all suggestions.

AuntEnvy

Premium Subscriber
It all depends on what you will be listening to, the distance you'll need/want and the "aesthetics". I have been using that little spectrum pigtail unit for a few years now and it works great. It's low profile and it pulls in signal very well for uhf and vhf hi. I don't have a need for low band anymore so I can't say what it does in that range. But I would surmise it's probably not a good option there. The only problem I've had is that the bottom/magnet area has started to come apart a bit.

I would get another one when it's time but now I kinda want that procomm one you mentioned. ; )

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner
Premium Subscriber
I'll add to the SpectrumForce votes. I use it on my POV with my 536HP. It's low-profile, discreet, can be removed easily, doesn't come in contact with tree branches, most importantly it brings in what I want it to while mobile

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
I have done some searching on the web and have found the Procomm 290M/SMA which seems to be a good antenna.

Looks a lot like a 1/4 wave VHF antenna. It'll work for "all band", but so will stuffing a paperclip into the end of the antenna connector. Any piece of metal will act like an antenna...
Difference is how well it performs.

It is the size, type, and approximate budget I have in mind, but again I'm open to all suggestions.