Best UHF handheld antenna 470-865

Status
Not open for further replies.

buddyrich9

Hi everyone!
I'm relatively new to the hobby. Been doing as much reading and searching as time allows. I'm looking for UHF signals in a range from 470-800mhz using my handheld icom r6. Anything special to look out for when shopping for antennas? Is this too wide a spectrum to ask for from 1 antenna? Would swapping out antennas give a real noticeable benefit for reception?
Thanks in advance. Any info/direction is greatly appreciated!
Jeff

JamesO

These are geared more toward 800 MHz, however, they work really well overall and this is what I run on all of my handhelds regardless of the band I am monitoring.

Remtronix REM-800B -BNC connector
Remtronix REM-800S - SMA connector

br0adband

Is it possible that a single antenna can give good performance from 400-900 MHz (since 800 MHz content is in the 851-861 MHz range here in the US then you might as well extend the range a little on either side)? Yes, there are plenty of them like the famed Radio Shack RS800 now being cloned basically by Remtronix as noted in the post above.

Is it possible that a single tuned antenna can give great performance from the given band it's tuned to? Absolutely, and if you're very serious about getting the best performance from given frequency bands then yes using antennas tuned to them - even if that requires switching them when needed - is the better solution.

For me personally I use the RS800 and the Diamond RHC77A and have no issues monitoring most anything above 100 MHz across the board. For more precise tuning purposes and better reception I do use tuned 1/4 wave ground planes for the given bands/frequencies when needed.