BR330T - how to find CTCSS or DCS Tone/code?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KI4LIV

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
328
Location
Melbourne, FL
The radio shop that programmed our radios at work went out of business, and nobody at work has a clue whether our VX-231s use DCS, CTCSS, or nothing at all. We're just trying to find out the configuration of these radios so we can order more!

I've used my BR330T's close call to find the frequencies - so that's a step forward.

I programmed the frequency into a programmable HT that I have - I can receive from the work HTs, but they can't hear me.

I've turned on every available option in Close Call and everywhere else (that I could find) to decode/search for CTCSS or DCS, but where do I find what it's found?

CC doesn't show any tone/code on the screen when it finds the frequency.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?
 

Kirk

DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
784
Once you've found the frequencies, program them in as standard channels. Remember that if they use a repeater, the transmit and receive frequencies are different. Set the CTCSS option (in the programming menu) to SEARCH.

If nothing is displayed, it's likely carrier squelch (no PL or DPL used). Otherwise, the PL or DPL will be shown.
 

KI4LIV

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
328
Location
Melbourne, FL
This is def a simplex only setup, so no repeaters.

I have the frequency saved as a regular freq, and set it to search... when I key the HT should it show the tone/code if it has one?
 

Kirk

DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
784
Yes. If you have ham rig, you might experiment with it so you know it's working right. (program a simplex ham channel in your ham radio, program the same channel in the scanner in search mode, then transmit using PL, no PL and DPL (if your ham rig has it)).
 

wtp

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,129
Location
Port Charlotte FL
CTCSS/DCS Search
CTCSS/DCS Search lets you search for CTCSS or
DCS tones when it finds an active frequency in search
and Close Call modes. You can identify up to 50
CTCSS tones and 104 DCS codes.
menu turn knob to Srch/CloCall Opt ,yes or enter
turn knob to CTCSS/DCS Search, yes or enter.on, yes or enter
Turning this option on lets the scanner search for
CTCSS/DCS tones. If the scanner detects the tone, it
displays the tone’s frequency and DCS code. Select
your setting, then press the scroll control.
On - CTCSS/DCS search is turned on.
Off - CTCSS/DCS search is turned off.
it might be that it is there when they transmit and is gone when the carrier drops.
 

KI4LIV

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
328
Location
Melbourne, FL
CTCSS/DCS Search
CTCSS/DCS Search lets you search for CTCSS or
DCS tones when it finds an active frequency in search
and Close Call modes. You can identify up to 50
CTCSS tones and 104 DCS codes.
menu turn knob to Srch/CloCall Opt ,yes or enter
turn knob to CTCSS/DCS Search, yes or enter.on, yes or enter
Turning this option on lets the scanner search for
CTCSS/DCS tones. If the scanner detects the tone, it
displays the tone’s frequency and DCS code. Select
your setting, then press the scroll control.
On - CTCSS/DCS search is turned on.
Off - CTCSS/DCS search is turned off.
it might be that it is there when they transmit and is gone when the carrier drops.

Been there done that :-/ Not finding any CTCSS tones or DCS codes... If it is finding them, it's not displaying them.

Now - that having been said, I did further testing this morning - sure enough, ONE frequency IS using a repeater!

Oddly enough - I searched the FCC frequency database - there's no repeater listed on the frequency, input or output , in this county.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top