Brand New BCD396xt - OPP Zone 1 - Downloaded from RR but ...No transmissions??

Status
Not open for further replies.

parabrush

Hello Scanning Professionals!

I must admit.. I am brand new to scanning. So i purchased the best equipment (that i referenced) Uniden BCD396XT and signed up with Radio Reference for great forums and freq uploads.

All i want to do is listen to Essex County (Windsor) area Ontario Provincial Police (OPP). That's it. So I purchased the software (ARC-XT) and uploaded my scanner with the freq's to listen. Essex 17ESSX (site 017) but have absolutely no transmissions. I drove around several towns and parked beside detachments too just in case it was my mobile and / or portable antenna.

I obviously have a programming problem but thought the RR upload would have all the presets completed for easy upload.

Does anyone else in Essex County, Ontario have a portable BCD396XT scanner and the same situation? Please understand I and very inexperienced with the acrynoms so instructions will need to be simple from you professionals.

PS- I REALLY WISH Uniden would have sent a book to operate this scanner from with some easy explanations on how to operate it!

Thanks in advance everyone.

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Forums Manager
Use the Fleetnet sticky for the Uniden 396T and see if you figure out where the problem is.

parabrush

Fleetnet Sticky where are u?

Hi,

Thanks for the prompt response. This may sound silly but likely not from a rookie. What is a Fleetnet Sticky and where can I find it?

Link?

Is it a checklist?

Cherrio!

torontokris

Premium Subscriber
Check the bandplan setting (a common problem that occured with older arc and the 396 - you asked if anyone had problems in the past)

if it's in scan mode change it to search

are you seeing the control channel? Freq below the I'd scan or search? If not then your not getting reception (another common proble
with the 396 on fleetnet VHF)

parabrush