bringing my 2m/70cm radio cross border

Status
Not open for further replies.

VE3JSO

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
985
Location
sarnia ont
hi i am wondering what things i need other then a copy of my license so i can bring my 2m/70cm radio and my arrl repeater directory when i go to the u.s so i don't get bothered by the border guards on both canada and u.s sides ( i know most will not care)
73
jamie
 

zz0468

QRT
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
I've crossed the border into Canada and back several times and have never been bothered by anything other than the question "what are all the antennas for". When I answer "ham radio, my geeky hobby", I get a smile, and a wave on through.

That's what I get going both ways. Same with crossing the border into Mexico and back. I must just have an honest face.

I think a copy of your ham license, and knowledge of the legalities involved will be sufficient.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,326
Location
Central Ontario
I just bring a copy of my licence. Only been hassled once when the officer didn't understand why I needed a gang charger like the one they had. A bunch of us were headed to the Hamvention and it made more sense to bring one large charger than several smaller ones. The officer at the Secondary Inspection asked if we were hams and if he'd find a vehicle with a bunch of antennas on it in the parking lot. We said yes and he processed us through ahead of all the other people in line.
 

cabletech

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
871
Location
Puget Sound
I have crossed the border several times a year for the last 20 yrs and I have only been asked twice about my antennas and equipment.

Most of the time, they want to know where I am going and for how long and if I have any wepons.

I also cross with a travel trailor and I have never been searched, and that is going both ways.

I also have some VE friends that cross several times a year and they have never had a problem.
 

Jay911

.
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
9,235
Location
Bragg Creek, Alberta
I drove from Calgary AB to Kalispell MT and back late last year with a HomePatrol on the dash and a ham HT in the cupholder and didn't get a second glance in either direction. A colleague going to the same conference (coming from another origin point) had to surrender his flash drive and itinerary as proof of what he was up to, and he had no radios that I know of. So, YMMV.
 

elk2370bruce

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,060
Location
East Brunswick, NJ
There is reciprocal licensing between our two nations. A copy of your license is all yoyu need. As I'm sure you know, operating south of the border (for you) involves the use of the US band plan. Enjoy your trio.
 

k6cpo

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
797
Location
San Diego, CA
When I traveled to Vancouver to catch a cruise, I first e-mailed Industry Canada to find out what I needed to do to operate in Vancouver. They said all I needed was a copy of my license and I had to identify with my US call sign/VA7 since I was going to be in British Columbia.

It works both ways...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top