Burien Washington Handheld Scanner Advice / Options

jdijulio

Let me first start that I'm a newbie and apologize in advance for those who know way more than I do who find this question annoying and/or if I'm not posting this in the right place!

I know barely enough to be dangerous (used to know CB radios, have played around with FRS/GMRS/basic understanding of HAM radio/CTCSS/DCS/etc) but am completely lost with anything digital, trunking, etc.

I think my "want" is pretty simple, but I simply don't know if it's possible, so I'll try to ask the question as simply as I can in hopes that someone can both:

A) Help me learn
B) Save me from wasting my money if it's not possible.

It's my understanding that my area in general is rapidly moving towards phasing out any reliance on 800MHz system that is (kind of?) still being used in favor of the new PSERN system in the Seattle / King County area I live in. It's my understanding PSERN is a Project 25 Phase II system.

Now, to my question: I would like to have a handheld (Uniden SDS100, etc) that when I hear a siren (Police, Fire, EMS) I can turn it on and hear what's happening around me.

That's pretty much about it.

I don't want to deal with an cell phone ne app, opening a web browser on my computer, etc. All I want to be able to go to a hardware device that all it is is a "scanner", that I can flip on and immediately start hearing radio traffic at 2:00 AM in the morning when I am awoken by sirens.

The city I live in (Burien) is serviced by the King County Sheriff's Office. I believe Fire and EMS radio dispatch comes through a regional dispatch center called ValleyCom (someone feel free to correct e if I'm wrong?). I have no idea if any of the agencies are or will soon be using encryption, which if they are or will be I assume will throw a big wrench in my hopes?