Cabarrus County reband

Status
Not open for further replies.

theradioman

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
18
Location
Kannapolis, NC
Does anyone know if Cabarrus rebanded it trunk system? I have not had time to hook up and run a monitor on it yet but I wanted to know if anyone had heard anything.
 

theradioman

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
18
Location
Kannapolis, NC
Its official Cabarrus county has rebanded. Here are the new channels. I will submit a request later for a database update.

852.6125
862.1125
862.6125
862.8875
863.3375
868.7875
868.9625 control
867.9250
868.1250


No longer used
868.4375
868.6125
866.1250
866.3500
866.6250
867.3500
867.6250
 

jeffmulter

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2001
Messages
1,456
Location
Fort Mill, S.C. (just south of Charlotte, N.C.)
According to the F.C.C., Concord received a comprehensive approval from the F.C.C. for modications to its trunked system license in May of 2011.

The modifications included grants to reassign each of the 12 NPSPAC system frequencies down 15 MHz. to the 851-854 MHz segment, which is typically how the 866-868 MHz frequencies are rebanded.

Assigning them any frequencies in the SMR bands - particularly at 862 or 863 MHz - would have kind-of defeated the reason for rebanding (interference from Nextel and SMRs).

Here's the 12 frequencies assigned by the F.C.C. to Concord for trunking when rebanding takes place:

851.1250 852.3500 853.4375
851.3500 852.6250 853.6125
851.6250 852.9250 853.7875
851.9000 853.1250 853.9625

There are 8 NPSPAC frequencies that will also remain licensed to Concord until the rebanding process is complete, and they have requested the F.C.C. to remove those frequencies from the license.
 
Last edited:

theradioman

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
18
Location
Kannapolis, NC
Jeff,
You are correct. in the few min i had with a signal I forgot to change trunk88 to be rebanded. I will get the correct info tonight when I get home.
 

theradioman

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
18
Location
Kannapolis, NC
Here is what I have from monitoring the last few hours
851.1250
851.3500
851.6250
851.9000
852.3500
868.7875
868.9625 CC (current)
867.9250
868.1250
 

yardbird

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
839
Location
Concord, NC
Well this is very interesting?

Because I had a meeting with the Cabarrus TRS administrator last night and he didn't mention a thing about rebanding.

I have radios on the system and scanners and they are working fine. And they are still programmed to the old frequencies.

Next within the next year the Cabarrus TRS will be migrated into the Charlotte P-25 Digital System.

When this happens the Cabarrus TRS frequencies will become part of Charlotte's USAI regional system.

All talkgroup ID's will be changed and even the system ID will change as well.

Basically Cabarrus County will be operating on the same system as Charlotte/Mecklenburg and Union are right now. The Cabarrus TRS will no longer be a stand-a-long system like Rowan County is.

The City of Concord, City of Kannapolis and Cabarrus County have done signed all the paperwork. all that needs to happen is for the radios to be reprogrammed and the switch throwed and the original Cabarrus system will become a part of the Mecklenburg TRS.

I do know that with talking with the system administrator he told me that Cabarrus may need to install a few more towers for better coverage to the northern most regions of the county.

Hope this helps

David
 
Last edited:

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
I am going to double check with a couple of sources to see what is going on.
Not doubting theradioman's info I just want to make sure of accuracy before changing something in the database as crucial as the system operating frequencies.
I will report back with what I find out.
Thanks!
Marshall KE4ZNR
 

theradioman

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
18
Location
Kannapolis, NC
Marshall, See what you can find out. It is strange they are still using some of the old channels. I verified the data trunker was showing with another scanner in conventional mode.
 

yardbird

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
839
Location
Concord, NC
I have emailed the system administrator directly.

Hopefully I will be able to post an answer later today.

David
 

yardbird

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
839
Location
Concord, NC
Ok! As I promised.

I talked to the system administrator. He advised me they have done switched 8 frequencies over and the remaining 4 will be done next week.

Below is a listing of what the new rebanding frequencies will be.

Old Freq: New Freq:
866.1250 Mhz 851.1250 Mhz
866.3500 Mhz 851.3500 Mhz
866.6250 Mhz 851.6250 Mhz
866.9000 Mhz 851.9000 Mhz
867.3500 Mhz 852.3500 Mhz
867.6250 Mhz 852.6250 Mhz
867.9250 Mhz 852.9250 Mhz
868.1250 Mhz 853.1250 Mhz
868.4375 Mhz 853.4375 Mhz
868.6125 Mhz 853.6125 Mhz
868.7875 Mhz 853.7875 Mhz
868.9625 Mhz 853.9625 Mhz

The control or data channels should be:

852.6250 Mhz, 853.1250 Mhz, 853.4375 Mhz & 853.9625 Mhz

I monitored both the old and new system today. The only thing I tracked on the new system was ID 16 which was Concord Police Dispatch One

The talkgroup ID's will stay the same for now.

All this will change in about a year when the switch over is made to the Mecklenburg TRS.

I don't think uses that have radios on the system will see a change in the operation of their radios.

The only change will be scanner users for now.

Like I said, I posted what I got out of the email from the system administrator

Marshall has a listing of the converted channels listed above.

When I confirm the other 4 channels have been changes then I will place another posting and then the changes can be updated in the database.

But right now I would keep the old channels right now till the final frequency has been changed. That way you want miss anything, because there is still a lot of activity on the old channels.

David
 
Last edited:

kd8x

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
535
Location
NC
kannapolis?

I am not hearing anything out of Kannapolis PD or FD on the old system....I have tried listening to the new reband but get nothing....Where have they gone???? hmmmm
 

yardbird

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
839
Location
Concord, NC
Good question?

I heard them dispatch a medical this morning across Vhf and I had my scanner on and didn't hear anything either.

I will try and do some monitoring this weekend and see what I can come up with.

David
 

kd8x

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
535
Location
NC
rebanded today

Evidently Concord has made the switch over today....I had to enter the new rebanded frequencies and make a CUSTOM BAND PLAN entry into my 396xt to get it to track properly.....

Base freq 851.025
upper freq 859.0
spacing 25
offset 440

good copy now....
 

trumpetman

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
1,683
Location
Charlotte, NC
Yep, confirmed it from this end. Running Trunk88 on it now...they must've done a tune-up because before this evening, I was barely able to hear the CC from my location. Now I'm getting about a 90% reception & decode.

On a side note, anyone know how to get Trunk88 to display the rebanded channels...it's still using the pre-rebanded channel and spitting out 862.XXXX freqs which are obviously wrong.

Thanks!
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
Yep, confirmed it from this end. Running Trunk88 on it now...they must've done a tune-up because before this evening, I was barely able to hear the CC from my location. Now I'm getting about a 90% reception & decode.

On a side note, anyone know how to get Trunk88 to display the rebanded channels...it's still using the pre-rebanded channel and spitting out 862.XXXX freqs which are obviously wrong.

Thanks!
Make a backup Copy of the Cabarrus County .CTL system file (in case anything goes wrong).
Open the .CTL file for the Cabarrus System in notepad.
Look for the Bandplan entries and edit them to the correct value.
Save the Edited .CTL file.
Restart T88.

You can also do the above through the CTRL+S Edit system while T88 is running but I always found the editing in notepad easier myself.
Marshall KE4ZNR
 

trumpetman

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
1,683
Location
Charlotte, NC
I figured that would be the case, but wanted to see if I could accomplish the feat with a simple key stroke. Don't guess I'm that lucky ;)

Still not working for me....went in to the 6403.CTL file and changed the bandplan info. No joy :(
 
Last edited:

jeffmulter

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2001
Messages
1,456
Location
Fort Mill, S.C. (just south of Charlotte, N.C.)
...they must've done a tune-up because before this evening, I was barely able to hear the CC from my location. Now I'm getting about a 90% reception & decode.
According to the ULS, the approved license changes also included the addition of 2 sites. One of those locations was on Weddington Road, over near Speedway Blvd and I-85. I presume that site might be the source for the improved signal into the UNCC area.

Unless a site in Kannapolis is new, I don't see another new site on the license.

Also noted is that Nextel is maintaining a license for 853.9625 at a location on Orr Road in Charlotte ... also not far from UNCC and the Cabarrus Co system site on Weddington Road.
 

trumpetman

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
1,683
Location
Charlotte, NC
Thanks for the input Jeff! I didn't know they added new sites...it's definitely nice, I know they were having issues a few years ago (back when CPD was using ITAC4 on the SW corner of the county).

I ran Trunk88 for the last few hours and verified all the control channels and frequencies. That being said, I made the update to the database to reflect the new rebanded channels. Thanks for all the info everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top