Calgary Area Newbie! Requesting help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

yycvor

Premium Subscriber
Hey everyone. Im a newbie to radioreferance. I have searched online high and low for a clear cut and simple awnser, but with no luck. Im really really hoping someone can help me out!

I have great knowledge with the theory of radio, and aviation comunication systems (ARINC, ACARS, VHF/UHF, and HF radios) I cant help but be curious about scanning the Calgary Police. I have done lots of research Into trunking radio systems and can wrap my head around how that works with decent understanding. Same can be said about APCO 25 Digital system that Calgary uses.

I recently purchased the Uniden BCD396T Digital Scanner ( APCO 25 DIGITAL). Although I have not recieved the product as of yet, I am confident in my ablility to set it up, based on instructions found on this site.

My question to you more enlightened members, Other then my scanner do I require anything else to be able to hear any channel thats listed as a "D" Digital Talk Group on this specific APCO 25 System? Mainly being District Talk Groups for the Calgary Police?
I see that some of the talk groups are indeed "E"ncrypted (Narcotics, SWAT) However I have zero interest in having to decode these.

Thanks in advance

CompKing

Premium Subscriber
Your 396 will be able to decode "D" without a problem. You'll be chasing Code 200's and following HAWC2 in no time.

yycvor

Premium Subscriber
Thats awsome news!!

Im glad this forum is indeed newbie friendly. I look forward to contributing here.
Thanks again.

Should I invest in a antenna?

CompKing

Premium Subscriber
Depends on what part of city you live in. There are repeaters all around city, but you will get most city-wide activity from the Bankers Hall tower. If you are close to downtown, you are likely set.

yycvor

Premium Subscriber