California statewide P25 system

Status
Not open for further replies.

iscanvnc2

Premium Subscriber
Just finished reading Dan Veeneman's Scanning America column in the August issue of Spectrum Monitor in which he states "at least 37 U.S. states have a statewide P25 network, including California, Florida, New York and Texas."

Am I missing something? I'm not aware CA has such.

ke6ats

Premium Subscriber
Many months ago (if I have time, I'll search back & confirm when), NAPCO's Frequency Log showed a license for Fresno, County of (iirc) for 2 frequencies. 453.3125 & 458.3125. It was listed as "Statewide Mutual Aid". Turns out, the same frequencies appear in FCC ULS searches for Tulare, Kings, & Madera Counties. I have been residing in Visalia on & off for the past 2 years & have monitored 453.3125 intermittently with full time encryption. Until recently, I didn't have even a P25 Phase 1 scanner. I have since acquired a PRO-106 & haven't heard a peep. (Of course!). Wondering if this might be related.

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
I don't know who this Dan Veeneman fella is, but he missed the mark with that article if he's using California, Florida, and New York as examples.

Neither California nor New York have anything that could remotely be considered a "Statewide P25 network".

It seems that areas of California have enough trouble building out countywide systems, much less anything of the statewide magnitude.

New York jerked around with OpenSky a decade ago before quickly realizing it was awful, and they never pursued any form of statewide system beyond that. Instead they formed a bunch of regional interop consortiums and encourage the counties to build out their own P25 systems with ISSI connections where appropriate.