Caltrans Cameras / Other webcams

franks_ham

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
446
Location
Sonoma Co., California
Has anyone ever gotten the Caltrans CCTV cameras to run for LONGER than a minute and have multiple open at once in say a "webcam viewer" program? If so, what did you use for it?

Regards,

-Frank C.
 

SuperHotLarry

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 6, 2020
Messages
7
Location
Los Angeles
Caltrans has a very useful web portal for all of their traffic cameras (and changeable freeway message signs, also known as CMS). This web portal allows you to view all Caltrans cameras available per district. For example, "District 7" is metropolitan Los Angeles. While these cameras are not live "video", each camera image is updated every 1 to 20 minutes depending on its location, however I have not found that the page itself will show the updated images until you refresh it.

While it's not a dedicated program, the camera images are arranged in a grid pattern, which is partially what I believe you are looking for.

HOWEVER, if you are familiar with API coding, you can custom-write a program to only show the cameras or other data you want using the official Caltrans API.

I usually keep the traffic camera page open on District 7 (my local district) with a 1-minute auto refresh on the page.

Hope this helps!
-SHL
 

franks_ham

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
446
Location
Sonoma Co., California
More or less what I'm looking for on the API side of things, but I have a program that I already have several webcams "working on" and wanted to try and add the Caltrans ones to that. It's a neat little program called iSPY.

Regards,

-Frank C.
 

SirJ

01010000 00110010 00110101
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
344
Location
Los Angeles County
Caltrans has a very useful web portal for all of their traffic cameras (and changeable freeway message signs, also known as CMS). This web portal allows you to view all Caltrans cameras available per district. For example, "District 7" is metropolitan Los Angeles. While these cameras are not live "video", each camera image is updated every 1 to 20 minutes depending on its location, however I have not found that the page itself will show the updated images until you refresh it.

While it's not a dedicated program, the camera images are arranged in a grid pattern, which is partially what I believe you are looking for.

HOWEVER, if you are familiar with API coding, you can custom-write a program to only show the cameras or other data you want using the official Caltrans API.

I usually keep the traffic camera page open on District 7 (my local district) with a 1-minute auto refresh on the page.

Hope this helps!
-SHL
Darn I live in Westlake, non of the cameras available work lol
 

vagrant

ker-muhj-uhn
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
1,949
Location
California
Oh wow, some of these cameras are streaming. I guess it has been a while since I viewed the Caltrans traffic cameras.
 

es93546

A Member Twice
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 18, 2020
Messages
367
Location
East of the Sierra Crest-Right Side of CA on Map
Yeah but not all of them are "live" all the time. Usually, it's metro areas that have continuous streaming or 30-second streams.

Regards,

-Frank C.
I don't think any of them in rural areas are live, thus having motion. Some other states have them streaming live if I remember correctly and I don't recall if there was an urban-rural split on that.
 

franks_ham

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
446
Location
Sonoma Co., California
I don't think any of them in rural areas are live, thus having motion. Some other states have them streaming live if I remember correctly and I don't recall if there was an urban-rural split on that.
I think maybe 5 state-wide in rural areas are live, otherwise yes...They are images updated X minutes. I'm looking to watch the more live/30-second ones via an external camera viewer locally.

Regards,

-Frank C.
 

sacscan

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
361
Location
Sacramento, CA
Why is it that almost every time there's a big incident here in Sacramento, the Caltrans camera for that location suddenly goes "Down for Construction"? Right now there's an overturned big rig on US-50 at Howe Avenue. I heard the broadcast on the CHP scanner, opened the Caltrans link, saw the still picture, hit play, and got a black screen. I went to another camera, verified it worked, then tried to go back to Howe Avenue again and got "Down for Construction". This has happened after many major freeway incidents. Do those of you in other cities experience this?
 

franks_ham

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
446
Location
Sonoma Co., California
Why is it that almost every time there's a big incident here in Sacramento, the Caltrans camera for that location suddenly goes "Down for Construction"? Right now there's an overturned big rig on US-50 at Howe Avenue. I heard the broadcast on the CHP scanner, opened the Caltrans link, saw the still picture, hit play, and got a black screen. I went to another camera, verified it worked, then tried to go back to Howe Avenue again and got "Down for Construction". This has happened after many major freeway incidents. Do those of you in other cities experience this?
Ya know, I haven't experienced it but I know you aren't the only one who's mentioned that either.

Regards,

-Frank C.
 
Top