DSDPlus Can DSD+ be a stand-alone scanner ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I live in a rural area and only need to scan two P25 frequencies, and our local Ham DMR repeater. No trunking.

I have a stack of old laptops in my garden shed from years ago when I worked as an I.T. monkey.

Does DSD+ have the ability to scan those three frequencies without running heavy receiver software like SDRSharp ?

I did due-diligence research, but all the DSD+ tutorials focus on trunking, which I do not need.

Any help appreciated!

slicerwizard

I live in a rural area and only need to scan two P25 frequencies, and our local Ham DMR repeater. No trunking.

Does DSD+ have the ability to scan those three frequencies without running heavy receiver software like SDRSharp ?

I did due-diligence research, but all the DSD+ tutorials focus on trunking, which I do not need.
All covered in the DSD+ 1.101 FMP.txt file.

FMP's scanner mode is designed to be used with DSD+. FMP and DSD+
should be running in the same folder. While DSD+ is decoding
digital voice, FMP will auto-hold on the current RF channel.
If DSD+ is not decoding digital voice, FMP will auto-scan to the
next channel in the scanlist. This behaviour will let you monitor
multiple digital channels, including control or rest channels.
FMP will not get hung up on constant carriers that are not broadcasting
digital voice calls.

a417

Doh! I never read all those text files. I searched the web and YouTube instead.

Thank you for pointing my in the right direction to learn this stuff !
...then when you say "RTFM" or a man page people get all bent out of shape. Glad you found what you needed to know!

[edit]