Can I pick up Winter Olympics race team frequencies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

FurrySeaCoral

We are staying in a condo in Whistler Creekside less than 1km from where all of the alpine racing events are held on the mountain. I would imagine that if anyone is broadcasting from the hill we should be close enough. I am a newbie, not sure where to even start scanning for race team frequencies. Even if I can just pick up race course preparation frequencies that would be fun too. I have the ICOM IC-R5.

BC_Scan

put scanner in search between 150-174 mhz

Yes historically the teams always have used vhf 150-174 mhz when up during world cups, I have personally heard many different teams,French, Germans , Italian's, American ,Canadian etc, I wiould imagine they will be bringing their comm's , but unless they are prohibited by IOC/Vanoc ? and asked to use the 700 mhz system , your scanner will not do P25 trunk , You would still be able to hear both mountain op's etc.
Last ski year when teams where training up at whistler , I noticed many using vanoc system , not sure for this year (Olympics) what that will look like.
I have entire Whistler database I have mined hear if you need any information specifically about anyone else.

FurrySeaCoral

Exciting if I could pick up some mountain ops, even if I could just hear them setting up the course or talking about race day weather conditions. If I wanted to hear the VANOC system on the P25 trunked system, what would be a good choice to buy a handheld trunked scanner that is known to work on their frequencies? It's all unencrypted? I was looking through the other thread on Winter Olympics comms and it didn't sound as straightforward as dialing in the P25 scanner.. it might involve more experimentation than that? I can barely figure out the scan features of my ICOM IC-R5.

FurrySeaCoral