• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

"Can not create unknown radio component?"

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlueDevil

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
722
Location
WA
After installing a fresh copy of the latest Motorola Professional Series CPS R06.12.09 straight from MOL I get this message "Can not create unknown radio component" immediate upon launching the program and when trying to read a radio.

I uninstalled and re-installed several times. Not sure what to do next. Any ideas?
 

BlueDevil

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
722
Location
WA
I tried installing other CPS and they are all doing the same thing.
 

zz0468

QRT
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,029
What operating system are you using? Some CPS is known to not play nice with Windows versions later than XP. I've also seen where certain combinations of hardware and OS versions will cause weird problems. For example, I use Quantar CPS from several computers. One running in a Dell laptop with Windows 7 requires that I run it under Win98 compatibility mode. It runs fine under XP on another laptop.
 

CommJunkie

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
901
Location
FM19xr
I had this problem when I used a USB cable and 64-bit Windows 7. Putting it all on 32-bit Windows 7 worked fine.
 

cabletech

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
868
Location
Puget Sound
When you installed the software it should have loaded another program call "APPLICATION LAUNCHER', this is like a mild interface between the computer as a whole and the software and radio.

This program MUST be running to get most of the programs issued after about 2010 to run correctly.

Also, some of the programs also need the .net framework from Mircosoft.

With out these there are known issues.
 

KBalcke

Newbie
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
1
I am also having this problem.

I have properly installed Professional CPS. Application Launcher is set to run automatically when windows starts.
This is a windows 8.1 32-bit laptop so I have tried running under all compatibility modes. I am using a USB adapter to get my RIB connection. Had issues with the Prolific driver but have solved that by installing earlier drivers.
Commercial CPS works fine as does Radius 1225 RSS v4.0 (running under Windows XP compatibility).
.NET Framework is fully up to date too.
I have changed the port setting to show USB adapter as com port 1 and still no luck.

It seems like CPS is not communicating with the ports. When i click READ via the file menu i am not asked to select a port like i am on my Windows 7 desktop that works.

Any more suggestions?

Thanks
Keith
 

treborx

Member
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
39
It did not work for me on 64 bit Windows 8, even in XP compatibility mode. It did work for me on 32 bit XP running in VMware Fusion on a Mac. 32 bit is the solution.
 

provides

Newbie
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
1
FIX for Windows 10

Use Motorola R01.11.16_EN
Roll back PL2303 Driver to windows 7 version 3.3.2.105

Start Motorola program as administrator and comp. Windows XP Servicepack 3

works perfect
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top