• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

can somebody help

Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
8
Location
mesa az
#1
hi yall I am kinda frustrated .I plugged my pro 96 into my computer and nothing happened .I expected the interface cable I just bought ,to be recognized as new hardware or at least have my computer notice a new device,but nothing happened.i actually have no idea at all what I should do at this point.apparently im supposed to go inlinr and update my firmware or something?????so I bought a cable and now what ..can anybody walk me through this .ill pay you /623 419 9642 if you want to call me.thank you in advance scott
 

fxdscon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
3,847
#2
What cable did you purchase? Post a link to it so that we can see which one it is.

Also, what computer are you using?
 
Last edited:

bob550

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
946
Location
Albany County, NY
#4
What version of Windows are you using? In most cases, newer Windows versions should recognize the cable and load the appropriate drivers without further effort on your behalf. That said, not all cable chipsets work with all versions of Windows.
 

bob550

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
946
Location
Albany County, NY
#7
Try plugging a USB flash drive or other peripheral into the same USB slot to see if the computer recognizes that. You can also check Device Manager when plugging the cable in to see if it shows up under the Ports listing. When I plugged the cable for my PRO-651 that I bought from bluemax49ers into my Win 10 computer, Device Manager shows an entry for "USB Serial Port (COM X). Lastly, if you haven't done so already, restart your computer.
 

fxdscon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
3,847
#9
You should also verify that the programming SW you have supports USB. If I remember correctly (That's a big if....), most of the Pro96/106 stuff was DOS based and only worked with true serial ports. I could be wrong....

$.02
The Pro96 software (and the scanner) is serial port based, not USB. The programming cable emulates a serial COM port on your computer. The communications between the scanner and the computer are serial based.

When using the software menu, you select a COM port to match the one that your computer has assigned to the programming cable.

Software Win96 from Starrsoft, and ARC96 from Butel runs on Windows 10 and several versions below that.
.

.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
8
Location
mesa az
#10
The Pro96 software (and the scanner) is serial port based, not USB. The programming cable emulates a serial COM port on your computer. The communications between the scanner and the computer are serial based.

When using the software menu, you select a COM port to match the one that your computer has assigned to the programming cable.

Software Win96 from Starrsoft, and ARC96 from Butel runs on Windows 10 and several versions below that.
.

.
so are you saying that my usb cable wont work ?
 

fxdscon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
3,847
#12
so are you saying that my usb cable wont work ?
The cable that you linked to has the USB to serial port emulator in it. That's what the FTDI chip is for. Assuming that the cable is not defective (which it may be if no drivers are loading and the computer doesn't acknowledge it's presence), it should work for your scanner.

If it's a working cable, with a genuine FTDI chip in it, Windows should recognize that you connected it to the computer, load the proper drivers, and it should show up as a COM port in your Windows hardware manager. It doesn't even need to be connected to the scanner for any of that to happen.


.
 
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
8
Location
mesa az
#13
The cable that you linked to has the USB to serial port emulator in it. That's what the FTDI chip is for. Assuming that the cable is not defective (which it may be if no drivers are loading and the computer doesn't acknowledge it's presence), it should work for your scanner.

If it's a working cable, with a genuine FTDI chip in it, Windows should recognize that you connected it to the computer, load the proper drivers, and it should show up as a COM port in your Windows hardware manager. It doesn't even need to be connected to the scanner for any of that to happen.
oh ok gotcha .great explaination. its a brand new cable I bought from bluemax49ers, and its not recognized still.weird ..thank you

.
 
Top