• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Can the ground rod be totally buried?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kc8qln

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
52
I put in an 8' copper ground rod about 18 inches from the house, and used #6 solid copper to connect it to the mast.

This side of the house is grass where a lot kids play, so I drove the rod about 4" below ground level, and dug a small trench for the #6 copper wire to get to the hosue. Then filled it back in with dirt, so all you see is a copper wire coming up my house.

Is this ok? Otherwise I have potential lawnmower damage & kids tripping on it.

Thanks
 

buffalogoat

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
21
Location
Simpsonville, SC
The ground rod is fine but you'll more than likely have moisture & corrosion problems with the ground wire connection being covered in dirt! That's why most ground wire-to-ground rod connections are above the dirt.
 

Thayne

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
2,129
If you used approved clamp & rod then burying the whole thing is ok. The rod is copper plated steel and the clamp is bronze-brass looking.

They do make something called Cadweld that actually exothermically welds them together but you don't need that---
 

Yokoshibu

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
362
buffalogoat said:
The ground rod is fine but you'll more than likely have moisture & corrosion problems with the ground wire connection being covered in dirt! That's why most ground wire-to-ground rod connections are above the dirt.
yeah, check it in about 5 years... j/k it might be sooner or less but eventually mother nature will do its thing!
 

kb2vxa

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Mar 22, 2005
Messages
6,126
Location
Point Pleasant Beach, N.J.
Hi KC and friends,

It's common practice and I have done it myself, like the man said if you use approved (bronze) hardware it's just fine.

Yoko, five years is a day to hardware that meets the NEC requirements, it's aluminium you have to worry about. That 6ga "grounding wire" that Rat Shack used to sell is case in point. I removed a 6M antenna from a widow's house and the aluminium wire was so stiff and brittle it broke apart in my hands and in some places it was hair thin and the rest was oxide. Here in Ocean County the electrical code forbids aluminium EMT because of the danger of salt corrosion but farther inland I have had masts made from heavy wall up for 30 years without problems. BTW, that wire was used in the same area but the alloy is quite different and far more prone to deterioration. EMT is made from Duralumin, wire is not.

Let that be a lesson to you, there is no substitute for copper and certain alloys. Copper roofs have been around for a hundred years and most of them don't leak. Bronze cannons have been raised intact from shipwrecks so there must be a reason why it's used in electrical fittings exposed to the elements.
 

Yokoshibu

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
362
I have seen weird stuff in soils with a High ph... but what do I know, I will still check mine in 5-6 years but I am a little anal like that!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top