Can you display talkgroup ID's on the main screen of the 996XT

Status
Not open for further replies.

qbertopp

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
54
Can you display talkgroup ID's on the main screen of the 996XT. While the TG is active instead on the frequency for example as in the 780 model.

Thanks
 

hfxChris

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
1,357
Location
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
It'll display them automatically, as long as you have them programmed. For that I would recommend using software (such as Freescan), since typing on that keypad is a pain in the.. scanner.
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,108
Location
Raleigh, NC
What do you mean "how do you enable that feature"?

By default the talkgroup ID will be displayed on
each trunked system transmission unless you program
an alpha tag in place of the ID.

And even if you program an alphatag you can still view the ID
on the 3rd display line.

Us veteran Uniden XT users don't mind helping out, but it might behoove you
to read over the 396XT Complete Reference as the answers to several of
your questions are answered in that Guide. Yes, it is a complete reference
guide for the 396XT, but considering that the 396XT and 996XT are almost
identical the guide covers both.

Marshall KE4ZNR
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,108
Location
Raleigh, NC
It'll display them automatically, as long as you have them programmed. For that I would recommend using software (such as Freescan), since typing on that keypad is a pain in the.. scanner.
Gotta agree with Chris here :)

Freescan is a life saver when it comes to programming anything but the smallest of systems! :)

Marshall KE4ZNR
 

qbertopp

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
54
Negative...My 996xt does not display the talkgroup ID's when a TG is active. It displays the ALFA TAG and below that the freq that the trunking system is using.

SO again, how do you program it to display the talkgroup ID's when they are active on a 996xt and while an ALFATAG is being used for that said TG.
 
Last edited:

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,108
Location
Raleigh, NC
Negative...My 996xt does not display the talkgroup ID's when a TG is active. It displays the ALFA TAG and below that the freq that the trunking system is using.

SO again, how do you program it to display the talkgroup ID's when they are active on a 996xt and while an ALFATAG is being used for that said TG.
Again, It behooves you to read the Complete Reference document in my first post.

On page 133 of that Complete Reference Guide:

While Holding on a system:



Function+6 changes the display mode.
I am just trying to help you learn your new radio.
Marshall KE4ZNR
 

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
5,055
Location
Eastern MA
That will Disable the channel groups in the current system assigned to this Group Quick Key.
HOLD on any frequency or talk group. Press the big silver knob, then press the #6 key. That will cycle through the three display modes. Once you find the one you like, press the big silver knob again to exit Function mode.

You know, most people here know what they are talking about, so if you can't get a function to work the way we describe it, chances are you aren't following the procedure correctly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top