can you modify a Ken TS520 for a frequency counter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

joseph2020

Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
113
Location
CO. US
I have an aceco F-1002 (1 MHz - 3 GHz) frequency counter with a BNC connector for input. Is there a way to connect this to a Kenwood TS-520 rig and use it as frequency display for the VCO? Thanks in advance.
 

kermitdafrog

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 21, 2011
Messages
22
Location
Charleston, SC
I have an aceco F-1002 (1 MHz - 3 GHz) frequency counter with a BNC connector for input. Is there a way to connect this to a Kenwood TS-520 rig and use it as frequency display for the VCO? Thanks in advance.
Well, nobody jumped on it so I'll give it a try. The brief answer is "no, I don't think so, at least not directly without additional circuitry".

The reason being is that there is no frequency present in the radio that directly represents the frequency that the receiver is receiving, or that the transmitter is set to transmit on. The receive and transmit frequencies are a result of mixing the VFO frequency with another frequency and taking either the sum or difference of them.

You did say "VCO". If by that you meant Voltage Controlled Oscillator, or the frequency of the internal VFO, you probably could, but that wouldn't be the frequency that you would be listening to or transmitting on for the reason I gave above.

Kermit
 
Last edited:

dwh367

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2003
Messages
399
Location
Owensboro, KY (Daviess County)
I have an aceco F-1002 (1 MHz - 3 GHz) frequency counter with a BNC connector for input. Is there a way to connect this to a Kenwood TS-520 rig and use it as frequency display for the VCO? Thanks in advance.
It might be like trying to find a needle in a haystack but Kenwood made a frequency counter for the TS-520. The one I used to have had one.
 

joseph2020

Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
113
Location
CO. US
dwh367, kermitdafrog, thanks for your replies. I am familiar with that device. I believe it plugs right into the 520(s), but for the regular 520, you need an additional kit to make it work. So, aside form the fact that the original freq counter is very hard to find, it is also very expensive as you have to buy the counter AND the interface kit.

There is another counter that is available on the web, but it runs about $150, plus you still need the interface kit (more $$. This is not an option for me (too much money just for convenience). I guess I will get used to adding up all the dials and come up with the operating frequency that way. Thanks again.
 

kermitdafrog

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 21, 2011
Messages
22
Location
Charleston, SC
"Adding the dials" sounds a lot more cumbersome than it is.

Sorta like the difference between a car with an automatic transmission (which you might call "point and pray") and a car with stick shift (which you might call "skill development, or actually driving") :) Come to think of it, analog watches still work pretty well too.

At any rate, just like the car and watch, after you use it a while you won't even think about it. I think you'll enjoy it.

Kermit
 

craig1521

Newbie
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
1
Location
modesto ca
if you haven't found anything try this web sight espelectronics.com he sells the thats work on the ts 520
I have one works great

craig
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top