• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Can you use a Scanner Antenna for a CB Radio?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RGNation

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
2
Can you use an All-Band Scanner Antenna for a CB Radio? i mistakenly bought a scanner antenna instead of a cb antenna, and i would like to know if it would still work. Thank You.
 

dave3825

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
2,874
Location
New York
No. Antennas are tuned for certain applications. Transmitting thru an antenna not designed and tuned for that radio would more than likely do damage to the radio. Cant you bring it back to the store and exchange it?
 

RGNation

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
2
No. Antennas are tuned for certain applications. Transmitting thru an antenna not designed and tuned for that radio would more than likely do damage to the radio. Cant you bring it back to the store and exchange it?
I bought it off amazon, I ordered it and figured out it was the wrong one before i got it. So i have to wait until it comes, then ship ot back. But thanks for the info man.
 

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
7,473
Location
Illinois
Can you use an All-Band Scanner Antenna for a CB Radio? i mistakenly bought a scanner antenna instead of a cb antenna, and i would like to know if it would still work. Thank You.

Sure, as long you don't plan on transmitting. :wink:
It would be a terrible waste of a good scanner antenna.


73,
n9zas
 

mrweather

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,058
If the antenna is designed to work at 27 MHz you could probably transmit with it. Dont expect great results though.
 

LtDoc

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
2,145
Location
Oklahoma
The short answer is no, you can't. There's the possibility that it might be used, but I certainly wouldn't count on that. So far, I think your best bet would be to return/exchange that antenna for the right one.
Another possibility is that you can make anything work if you want to bad enough. It would definitely not be easy/cheap, and probably wouldn't work very well.
- 'Doc

(Not that I've ever done anything like that! ... and I hope I never do again.)
 

ke5fnb

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
9
Location
Raceland, LA
NO. Don't even think about it. I blew my first CB radio (Maxon Handheld) transmitter, trying to use the radio shack handheld scanner antenna when I was 15. Make you you have an antenna that is SPECIFICALLY tuned to the CB range. Hope you didn't alread make the same mistake I did.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top