Canadian Niagara Power (Tech Work)

ATCTech

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2002
Messages
999
Location
Central Halton County, Ontario Canada
As DSD+ sees it that's a TIII system, not Connect+ as listed in the DB here. It's not the right time to confirm any of them but there are a bunch of VHF frequencies on the TAFL which might be part of this multi-site system too.

77531
 

Saint

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,513
Location
Fort Erie Ontario Canada
My sds100 scanner shows TIII system also. I can tell you we've had two really bad storm systems come through this area and I never heard anything on this system my power went off for 10 hours and the second time for almost 2 hours I thought I would have heard a lot of traffic but nothing now I hear them working on the radio system interesting.
 

Saint

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,513
Location
Fort Erie Ontario Canada
Thanks Steve! I'll watch it during the day on Monday and sit on 4 or 5 frequencies at once with multiple radios to see where there's activity. Is this your local hydro provider in Fort Erie?
Yes Canadian Niagara Power is are local hydro provider in Fort Erie, I have been wondering why I have not heard anything on this system since I submitted the one control TG. I used to hear them all the time when they had a analog frequency. I'll let my scanner run all night tonight we have another storm coming in around 4 AM lasting to around 6 PM so there might be some traffic on this system, expectimg some ice, rain and snow.
Steve
 

Saint

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,513
Location
Fort Erie Ontario Canada
I see TG-10 is up and running I have my scanner recording, I'll check the audio files and see what information I have.
Steve
 

mciupa

DB Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
6,917
What are the LCN/LSN's? Those are important to those people using Uniden scanners. I can add them to the database.
 

ATCTech

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2002
Messages
999
Location
Central Halton County, Ontario Canada
Don't know yet Mike, this thing is so quiet that the only transmissions have been on the one frequency and being TIII it take a bit if a pattern to establish things. It appears to be a 2 site system, the second site perhaps in Port Colborne based on TAFL data. The CC on 169.965 appears to be freq. 1 so the #1st LCN. All DSD+ has shown me so far is "4, 5, 6, ?" for channel assignments, and no numeric data that would normally accompany a TIII system. Since the only other traffic (voice & LRRP) has been on 159.975 I'm assuming that would be the 2nd frequency, but that's purely speculative. so I'm calling it "A" second frequency vs. "THE" second. I've also monitored 169.590 (licensed to the same user) and it shows as a DMR BS, with data every few seconds but no evidence of voice traffic or multiple channels. Other licensed freqs per TAFL 168.435, 164.415 and 140.385 are silent from my QTH.

Bob
 
Last edited:

Saint

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,513
Location
Fort Erie Ontario Canada
I ran DSD+ on the Canadian Niagara Power System but never picked up any Audio from anyone, it was sitting on 169.695 mhz
Don't know if any of this information in these files will help but this is what I have.
Steve
 

Attachments

Saint

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,513
Location
Fort Erie Ontario Canada
Yes I have been seeing the LRRP DATA coming up in the event log, also I have noticed that when scanning the system on my SDS100 Scanner it's not stuck on Slot 1 it's going back and fourth between slot1 and slot 2. I picked up at 1:02 pm the linemen on TG-10 for about 30 seconds asking to re-energize a line and that was it. I wish they would get busier so I can run LCN analyzer on the two frequencies, don't want to tie up my scanner when there is so little traffic. Maybe I 'll let Analyzer run when I'm sleeping and see if I can confirm the LCN'S.
Steve
 
Top