cant get audio to work with scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

kens-scanner

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
10
Location
Chicago Il
Hello this is my 1st time using this site with my scanner and i am broadcasting right now but for some reason i cant get the audio to work
 

zpdx

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2009
Messages
15
Location
Portland, OR
I can hear audio coming through your feed, but the levels are really high, including a constant low pitch hum. If you are using the Mic input make sure you do NOT have the +20db microphone boost enabled. You can typically find this in the Windows volume control (XP), Sound control panel (Vista, win7), or proprietary driver software if you have one (like Realtek Audio Manager).
 

kens-scanner

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
10
Location
Chicago Il
hi thanks for listening yea i noticed that to the levels are abit high i dont know why i hear the humming on there i am on vista still trying to figure it out
 

kens-scanner

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
10
Location
Chicago Il
hi i am still trying to figure it out this is all new to me and 1st time i tried my scanner on this site i dont know why there is a hum noise
 

Bote

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
706
Location
Ft. Lauderdale, FL, U.S.A.
hi i am still trying to figure it out this is all new to me and 1st time i tried my scanner on this site i dont know why there is a hum noise
I don't know what feed you're talking about so I can't listen to it to diagnose it.

I'm guessing that you have the input gain on your feed computer cranked up so high that it's hearing every last noise coming down the line.

Adjusting the audio levels properly is absolutely crucial to a good feed, there is nothing plug-and-play about this, you gotta get your hands dirty.

You could try hooking speakers to the feed computer and just plain listen to what the feed computer is hearing. If it sounds bad there, it will sound bad on the stream that you send out.

Have you read the wiki article listing steps for setting up and adjusting your feed?

Instructions

Give that a try and see what you get.
 

hvscan

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
181
Location
Hudson Valley, NY
You have great advise here that should help to resolve the problem for you. I would add that you need to turn the mic or line in volume all the way down (based on which one you are connected to). Do the same on your scanner. Open the mic or line in volume just a bit and do the same on your scanner. From there, listen to your feed and slowly adjust the volume until it sounds clean. Remember, there is a small delay, so you need to give the feed time to broadcast your adjustment. Do this with your squelch open, so you have noise to listen to. It takes very little volume to have a clean, good sounding feed.
 

Bote

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
706
Location
Ft. Lauderdale, FL, U.S.A.
You have great advise here that should help to resolve the problem for you. I would add that you need to turn the mic or line in volume all the way down (based on which one you are connected to). Do the same on your scanner. Open the mic or line in volume just a bit and do the same on your scanner. From there, listen to your feed and slowly adjust the volume until it sounds clean. Remember, there is a small delay, so you need to give the feed time to broadcast your adjustment. Do this with your squelch open, so you have noise to listen to. It takes very little volume to have a clean, good sounding feed.
That's a good way to do it. If you want to eliminate the delay then listen to the local speakers on the feed computer as a rough guide.

That VU level meter that I found is indispensible in setting up the feed properly. It shows you immediately if you are red-lining, which is BAD. Keep the level below about -2dB on the meter and you will have a clean sounding feed.


download Digital Level Meter
 

kens-scanner

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
10
Location
Chicago Il
i have my scanner working now

hi thanks for replying i got my feed working now i dont leave the feed on 24/7 i just try to leave it on as long as i can
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top