• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Can't hear anything on 996T

Status
Not open for further replies.

mpdonala

Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
88
Location
Colorado Springs
I think I have everything programed right I see my towers scanning and can go manually to a talkgroup but can't hear any transmissions. Any Ideas?
 

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,624
Location
Eastern MA
If you sit on a control channel do you see TGs? I'd check audio and modulation types and make sure that the control channels aren't locked out by accident.

Gary
 

rfaricy

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
150
Del-md-pa-nj-scanman said:
huh.....your 996 just sucks......
And *I* poison threads... :roll:

How about maybe the programming might have a slight error in it? That's not so far off...
 

RocketNJ

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
892
Location
Pequannock, NJ
mpdonala said:
I think I have everything programed right I see my towers scanning and can go manually to a talkgroup but can't hear any transmissions. Any Ideas?
What system are you trying to listen to? Can you hear conventional frequencies?
 

mpdonala

Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
88
Location
Colorado Springs
996t

Haven't tried any conventional. I am trying to listen to the El Paso County system in Colorado. I did load the Colo. system from the software data base and the only way I could hear anything there was man. on a single channel TG.
 

brandon

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,462
Location
SoCal
Did you by any chance cut and paste the talkgroups into the software from Excel? I had the exact same problem when I first got my BC246 and it turned out the talkgroups didn't go in properly (due to missing leadoff zeros).
 

STiMULi

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
1,581
Location
Tucson, Arizona
mpdonala said:
Thanks to all that gave positive replies. I have gotten the radio to work. Trial and error.

You mean you didn't appreciate helpful responses like this?

Del-md-pa-nj-scanman said:
huh.....your 996 just sucks......
:)

You know a bunch of thought went into that one :)
 

maalox

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
755
Location
n y c
hello. every time a new radio comes out there is always issues. cant they ever get it right the first time.
 

Thayne

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
2,129
Yep. My eyes are crossed and I'm going to bed--But I still think free software that is kinda wacky is still better than NO software.
 

W4KRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Messages
2,917
Location
Coconut Creek, FL
maalox said:
hello. every time a new radio comes out there is always issues. cant they ever get it right the first time.
Do you mean Uniden can't get it right, or the people trying to program the scanner can't get it right? :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top