• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Can't read XTS2500

Status
Not open for further replies.

cackis

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
114
Location
Orange County & Bronx NY
Good morning all. I've done some searches on the net and this site trying to find this info but haven't come up with what I'm looking for so here it is: I have an XTS2500 Model 1 800 MHz radio that I am trying to read but the CPS isn't seeing the radio. I know this can happen with a bad flex cable so I tried another housing and it's still happening. Anyone have any ideas or had this problem before? Software is MOL legit with an OEM programming cable. I'm not having any problems with my other radios. Thanks in advance.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,095
Location
Central Ontario
You'll need to provide us with some basic information first.

Which CPS and Version?

What OS is on the computer?

Part number of the cable?

Have you checked the Windows Device Manager to see if the radio is recognized?

Have you tried deleting and reinstalling the drivers?
 

cackis

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
114
Location
Orange County & Bronx NY
Thanks for your quick reply! I'm out at the moment so I don't have my laptop and radio with me but I can tell you it's CPS R20.00.00 with a Motorola RKN4105 cable (all legit OEM through MOL account) running on a Vista OS. I'm only having trouble with this specific radio, no problems reading or writing to any other XTS1500, XTS2500 or XTS5000's.
 

air2548

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
24
Is this a brand new radio or used? Like MikeOxlong stated I would check to make sure the computer is recognizing it. Either by listening for the USB device connection sound or device manager. If you are able to read other radios with no problem it does not sound like a setting in your CPS.
 

cackis

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
114
Location
Orange County & Bronx NY
Good morning everyone. Finally had a chance to try this again. This is a used radio that I picked up in a lot. I checked the device manager on my computer and it's not seeing the radio. It has no problem seeing my other XTS2500. I thinking maybe a hardware issue. Anyone run into this before?
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,095
Location
Central Ontario
I seem to recall a bunch of XTS2500 radios (Panter?) that were sold as being unreadable via USB but were readable via serial.

Pretty sure it was fully disclosed when they were sold and a discount was offered because of the problem.

I'm starting to wonder if you got one of them?
 

cackis

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
114
Location
Orange County & Bronx NY
Thank you Mike! I'm able to read the radio with a serial cable and usb to serial adapter. I may be a Panter radio for all I know but it works. Thanks again to everyone for their help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top