Can't seem to hear P25 in Summit County.

Status
Not open for further replies.

vini_i

I'm very new to this. I've set up two SDR dongles to listen to the trunked radio system in Cuyahoga Falls Summit county. The dongles are NooElec and RTL-SDR. I've set them up per several different tutorials that I've found online. I'm using Unitrunker 1.0.33.6 to do the tuning. The NooElec dongle is parked on the 858.5125 MHz control channel and the RTL-SDR is listening for the voice. Unitrunker is then pumping the audio (digitized) to VB wire. Then to decode the audio I have DSD+ 1.101 receiving the audio from VB wire and decoding it to actual audio. On the surface, this seems to be working. The control channel is picking up all the audio channels. Unitrunker is jumping back and forth on the voice channels. DSD+ seems to be decoding the audio but all I hear is garbage. It sounds like voice that has been horribly autotuned.

At first, I thought that it might be encrypted. From what I've read encrypted voice sounds like R2D2 no autotuned voice. Also, if I listen long enough I can hear voice transmissions that are hard to understand but legible.

I probably messed up a setting somewhere but I'm not even sure where to start looking.

1. Is the P25 network in summit county encrypted and I'm wasting my time?
2. If I'm not wasting my time, what are some settings that could improve the voice quality or what could I have possibly messed up?

mszabo2000

Akron PD is encrypted. Akron FD and SCSO use encryption on some talkgroups. I can't assist with your setup but I wouldn't spend much time fixing the setup for 6F4 as this system will be shut down in January. Users are expected to transition to 348 site 2 starting the week of Jan 14th.

tonya

Premium Subscriber