CCSO - Harris Dynamically Changing P25-I/P25-II System On Motorola

swfluncensored

Premium Subscriber
Hi all,

I am a resident of Lee County - which is mostly encrypted. I recently found out I am within range of a neighboring county, Charlotte County, and their communications are 100% unencrypted.

The issue? They are on a Harris Dynamically Changing P25-I/P25-II system.

Is this something that could be programmed into a Motorola APX? I am a little foggy on this, as I do not have much experience with Harris systems.
Thank you!

batdude

Florida Db Admin / Florida Forum Moderator
From my rather limited technical knowledge of modern day system architecture, the short answer is yes, an APX will work on these systems. If I understand this correctly, all the "dynamically changing" means is that if a non-P25-II radio keys up a talkgroup, that TG "reverts" to FDMA operation. Since most (all?) TDMA capable radios are capable of P25-I (FDMA) operation, this allows older non-P25-II radios (e.g., XTS5000s) to function on the system.

on another note, I would very much appreciate input on the multiple 800 systems that are on the Lee Co RR dB page - like which ones are still active, etc. - "Lee County Govt 1, 2 and 3", etc. -- there are SIX "local government" listings....

thx

Last edited:

swfluncensored

Premium Subscriber
on another note, I would very much appreciate input on the multiple 800 systems that are on the Lee Co RR dB page - like which ones are still active, etc. - "Lee County Govt 1, 2 and 3", etc. -- there are SIX "local government" listings....

Thanks for your reply and insight on this. In regards to Lee County's active systems (that are on the RR DB), Lee County Govt 1, 2, and 3 are all Analog systems and have not been in use for (what I presume is) at least a decade or so. IIRC, Lee County switched to digital systems around 2011-2012. Don't even bother looking at those.