Channel Steps on Yaesu FT-60R

Status
Not open for further replies.

rfandy

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
5
Location
Northern New Jersey
Now with public safety going narrow band, there're new channel steps at 6.25 and 7.5 MHz that need to be supported in receivers to properly listen to folks who've licensed theirselves on these narrow band channels. My good 'ole FT-60R can only support 5, 10, 12.5, 15, 20, & 25 - no 6.25 or 7.5. I can't properly listen to a new police channel in town. Commercial radios DO have these steps. I guess the ham manufacturers don't feel like changing their firmware to support these. Has anyone figured out how to fool/spoof radio to accept these new freqs?
 

rescuecomm

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
1,046
Location
Travelers Rest, SC
Join the party. My Icom F30GS/F40GT radios step correctly, but I monitor the public safety in my vehicle on a Kenwood TM-708. To get what I need means the CB mobile is going to a shelf and and an Icom or Motorola VHF mobile is coming soon. Actually, the Kenwood TM271 2 meter mobile will step at 2.5 Khz and work on narrow band. This is from looking at the specs as I don't own one. The UHF 6.25 khz spacing shouldn't be a problem for a while, since there is no Project 25 6.25 khz digital standard for VHF and UHF yet. There are quite a few VHF high narrow band channels around.

Bob
 
Last edited:

N1SQB

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
2,472
Location
Somewhere On Earth
Well;
The new Icom IC 92 does cover the 6.25 KHZ steps! If you that much dough to shell out!

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/ht/5092spec.html

Im with you. I have an FT-60 that I love. The solution? Leave the Public safety stuff to the scanners and leave the ham stuff to the FT-60. Otherwise get a commercial radio. I use the Kenwood TK-380 UHF models myself. They have much better audio,longer lasting batteries, are easier to program than most Ham portables, less prone to interference, cheaper than most Ham portables and you can program your Ham stuff as well as your public safety freqs. You can get them in either VHF (TK-280) or UHF (TK-380) versions. Software for Kenwoods is easier to obtain than Motorola. Not a bad investment. I've got 2 UHF that I just adore. GMRS/HAM/PUBLIC SAFETY all in 1 package.

http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2625089040021435046uDSBkS

http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2298251290021435046ewGNrs

Manny
 
Last edited:

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,965
Location
West of Charlotte NC
6.25 is years away and is not mandated at all for use. The 12.5 deadline is still five years away so don't worry about that.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
51
So does this mean that you cant put any narrowbanded freqs in a ham radio....such as a yaesu FT7800 for example?
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,965
Location
West of Charlotte NC
So does this mean that you cant put any narrowbanded freqs in a ham radio....such as a yaesu FT7800 for example?

Well you could always try it and see :D


Ok, really, there are differing views of what is "narrowband". In VHF use, narrowband is being tossed around for the 2013 mandate that will result in 12.5khz steps for land mobile (not ham radio) use. I know my yaesu FT2600 two meter mobile has the correct settings for both 12.5khz steps frequencies as well as the true narrowband setting in the menu as I monitor a narrowband EMS repeater every day. They did not switch frequencies, just went narrowband long before the mandated time (and do regret doing so this early, but that's another story).


So yes, your FT7800 should do the narrowband steps that are being used today as it's a lot newer than my 2600.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
51
Stumped???

I started to program my new Yaesu FT7800R with some narrowband frequencies....and some of them worked. Some of them didnt. The frequencies that didnt work are:

151.1225 DPL 532
156.2175 PL 229.1
154.1975 PL 229.1
155.6175 PL 229.1
155.7675 PL 179.9

The frequency step is on auto. These frequencies work fine in my BCD996T. I dont know if im doing something wrong/something wrong with the radio. Help would be greatly appreciated. :eek:)
 

rescuecomm

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
1,046
Location
Travelers Rest, SC
If the freq is an even number of 12.5 khz steps from the megahertz integer, it will go in. If it is an odd step, then you will need a freq step of 7.5 khz or 2.5 khz to get it. As Grog indicated, some radios have the 6.25 khz in them for UHF and some have the 2.5 khz for VHF. Since there seems to be no 6.25 khz Project 25 standard as of yet, you don't need the ultra-narrow freq steps.

Grog,

The Icom/Kenwood NXDN digital narrow band is interesting since it does meet the 6.25 khz narrow band stats. From what I have read, any FCC license is for the center of the assigned frequency. So you won't have any dibbs on the extra spectrum you vacate if you do put up a ultra-narrowband (6.25 khz) system? I would like to have the first NXDN system up in SC, but to clear interference out of Greenwood County, I would want to be on 453.10625 mhz or 453.09375 mhz. I understand that the NXDN Icom repeaters will work either 12.5 khz analog or 6.25 khz digital like the APCO 25 units do, but if one goes to a ultra narrow channel, you can't do that. I wonder if you would be required to re-coordinate to go to it.

The Phase 2 Project 25 is going with a 12.5 khz channel with data riding on half and digital voice on the other half if I understand correctly. This meets the 4800 kps data rate per channel standard. That doesn't meet the standard for walkie to walkie (for interop) and is why the ultra-narrow band UHF was put on hold.

Bob
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
51
So basiclly im out of luck....If I put in the input freqs I will only hear half of the conversation correct?
 

KC0QNB

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
730
Location
Gothenburg, NE
So basiclly im out of luck....If I put in the input freqs I will only hear half of the conversation correct?
Probably not hear much clearly, it will sound like is in not on frequency is my guess, I just did a check and both of my Icoms will do 5,10,12.5,15 steps, but when the time comes I am sure the ham radio/scanner folks will have equipment available, even the BC15t doesn't do smaller than 5kHz, if I read correctly.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
51
The funny thing is like I said before....I can pick these freqs up on my BCD996T. There local sheriff, fire department freqs. I guess there apart of the 6.25/7.5 channel steps....as my Yaesu FT7800R wont pick up. I also guess I wouldnt be asking if I know what I was talking about. He he :p
 

N1SQB

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
2,472
Location
Somewhere On Earth
8200 to the rescue!

Thats why I love my AOR 8200. Nothing to worry about when it comes to tunning. 1KHZ tunning Steps baby! Got to love that!........And to think I ALMOST sold it too....If it would only trunk track, HMM.... Like I say all the time, Leave the Ham stuff on your Ham radio and leave the rest to the Scanners. People dont get it. Ham radio mfgrs. dont design the Ham gear with the Scannist in mind. They just throw in that wide band receive jazz to make it more appealing.

Manny
 
Last edited:

rescuecomm

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
1,046
Location
Travelers Rest, SC
Try setting the freq to the next 0.0025 which your ham radio will do and see what you hear. It might be enough to monitor. Otherwise, you will need a public safety type radio to do this unless you are going to spring for a new "narrowband" amatuer HT.

151.1225 - 151.1250
156.2175 - 156.2150
154.1975 - 154.2000
155.6175 - 155.6200
155.7675 - 155.7650

Bob
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
7,091
Location
Fortunately, GA
I started to program my new Yaesu FT7800R with some narrowband frequencies....and some of them worked. Some of them didnt. The frequencies that didnt work are:

151.1225 DPL 532
156.2175 PL 229.1
154.1975 PL 229.1
155.6175 PL 229.1
155.7675 PL 179.9

The frequency step is on auto. These frequencies work fine in my BCD996T. I dont know if im doing something wrong/something wrong with the radio. Help would be greatly appreciated. :eek:)
The FT60 will work quite well 2.5khz above or below the frequency. Used to monitor my local mall security with it that way(151.5275). Use my VX170 to do it now. My VX2 will take the frequency.
Larry
 

rfandy

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
5
Location
Northern New Jersey
FT-60R Frequency Steps

I want to thank everybody for their feedback. The 2.5 Khz above/below desired frequency worked. It would be a simple change to firmware to allow direct input. I guess there's not enough call for it. I DO have a commercial HT that will accept the specific frequency of interest but 1 radio to drag around is better than 2! Regards,

Andy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top