Chevrolet 05 Silverado Z71 - - Power?

Status
Not open for further replies.

scansomd

Member
Joined
May 16, 2002
Messages
242
Location
Southern Maryland
I'm looking to install my FT-7800 in this vehicle. Does anyone here have experience in running powercables from the battery to the interior (through the firewall)? Rather than just start pulling sound insulation looking for a grommet, I was hoping someone here can point me in a specific / general direction for a known good spot.

Thanks in advance,
Richard
 

N4JNW

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
766
Location
Irvine, KY
For fresh clean power, I'd run battery direct. A vehicle battery acts as a capacitor of sorts, and will filter SOME RF noise. Be cautious as to where you ground, as you may create a ground loop.

I'd run + and - direct to the battery. Just be sure to turn off your radio before you park for the night or you might need a boost...

Like said, get you some good heavy wire and direct it. A couple wires in the firewall never hurt anything, and if you do it right and take your time, they'll never be seen.
 

SLWilson

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
1,221
Location
Ohio
Speedometer Boot....

scansomd said:
I'm looking to install my FT-7800 in this vehicle. Does anyone here have experience in running powercables from the battery to the interior (through the firewall)? Rather than just start pulling sound insulation looking for a grommet, I was hoping someone here can point me in a specific / general direction for a known good spot.

Thanks in advance,
Richard
I ran mine through the rubber boot where the speedometer cable runs through....See below. I hooked power up to the POWER ACCSY lead that is under the hood. It has a red cover over it.....Steve/KB8FAR
 
Last edited:

ResQguy

Meh
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,287
1999-2007 GM Fullsize trucks have a location already centerpunched on the exterior firewall next to the vaccum brake booster. On the inside of the vehicle, there is a pop-out section of firewall insulation that can be removed to see the dimple on the other side. Drill from outside>in and use a proper grommet on your wires.
 

scansomd

Member
Joined
May 16, 2002
Messages
242
Location
Southern Maryland
SLWilson said:
I ran mine through the rubber boot where the speedometer cable runs through....See below. I hooked power up to the POWER ACCSY lead that is under the hood. It has a red cover over it.....Steve/KB8FAR
Thanks for the info. I too hooked power to the ACCSY lead. I had a devil of a time loosening the bolt attached to the hot lead. I wound up working the hot wire underneath it, but I was never able to loosen the bolt. I can't tell from the picture - how did you attach the hot wire to the asscy box?
 

Uplink

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
433
Location
Los Angeles County
I had that radio in my Sierra at one time. PICS HERE. There are 2 accessory studs attached to the side of the fuse box under the hood (complete with a 30amp fuse) that work good for radios too. They are commonly used for trailering.


scansomd said:
Thanks for the info. I too hooked power to the ACCSY lead. I had a devil of a time loosening the bolt attached to the hot lead. I wound up working the hot wire underneath it, but I was never able to loosen the bolt. I can't tell from the picture - how did you attach the hot wire to the asscy box?
 

SLWilson

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
1,221
Location
Ohio
Bolt...

scansomd said:
Thanks for the info. I too hooked power to the ACCSY lead. I had a devil of a time loosening the bolt attached to the hot lead. I wound up working the hot wire underneath it, but I was never able to loosen the bolt. I can't tell from the picture - how did you attach the hot wire to the asscy box?
The bolt loosened up on mine. If I remember right it is metric......Steve/KB8FAR :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top