Choosing my first handheld radio

Status
Not open for further replies.

smklassen0977

Hi All! I'm currently studying for my Technician's license and I'm looking at getting my first handheld radio. I've sort of narrowed it down the the TYT DM-380. Knowing this is a DMR radio, does this model do traditional radio too? Also, if I get it before I pass my test can I use it to listen to either digital or analog transmissions?

LD723

Hi All! I'm currently studying for my Technician's license and I'm looking at getting my first handheld radio. I've sort of narrowed it down the the TYT DM-380. Knowing this is a DMR radio, does this model do traditional radio too? Also, if I get it before I pass my test can I use it to listen to either digital or analog transmissions?
The MD-380 does both analog (narrow and wide) and DMR digital. This radio has two variants that you can get which are either vhf (136-174MHz) or the uhf band (400-480MHz) so it is up to you to decide which to get

ladn

Explorer of the Frequency Spectrum
Premium Subscriber
Southern California and sometimes Owens Valley
I've sort of narrowed it down the the TYT DM-380
The model is MD-380. It's single band, UHF only. According to the specs, it will do both analog FM and DMR.
And, yes, you can listen to anything the radio will receive. You will only need a license to transmit.

Personally, I wouldn't recommend a DMR radio as a first radio for a new ham (unless you have a specific reason). DMR is more complicated to program and you need to be within range of either a DMR enabled repeater or hot spot. Also, being a single band, and UHF at that, is rather limiting.

Consider the Yaesu FT-60R which is an analog (only) dual band with wide coverage receiver. This is a very good radio and should give you years of service. If your heart is set on DMR, give a look at the Anytone d878uv handheld. This is a dual band/dual mode radio.

bharvey2