City Of Boulder 700 Simulcast

scanlist

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
2,066
Location
Greeley, CO
For those who do not chronically check the database the City Of Boulder 700 MHz simulcast system went live this week.

As of this post the system is idle.

Pro96com tower data. No Talkgroups logged at this time:

FileVersion:8
-TowerInfo
#This section is here for information only. With the exception
#of the Call Sign(s), This data is not Read back into the program at all.
System ID : 43E
System Name : City Of Boulder
WACN : 00001
Tower Number (Decimal): 1-1
Tower Number (Hex) : T0101
Tower Description : Simulcast
Control Capabilities : Voice,Registration
Flavor : Phase 2
Call Sign(s) :
Timestamp : Fri Nov 29 07:30:00 2019

-Tables
#Format: Table ID,Base Freq,Spacing,Input Offset,Assumed/Confirmed,BandWidth,Slots
00,851.00625,0.00625,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,1
01,762.00625,0.00625,30.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,1

-Frequencies
#Format: Channel,Usage,Frequency(/Slot),Input Channel,Input Frequency(/Slot),Input Explicit(1/0),Hit Count
"01-1136","a",769.10625,"01-1136",799.10625,0,0
"01-1240","a",769.75625,"01-1240",799.75625,0,0
"01-1406","a",770.79375,"01-1406",800.79375,0,0
"01-1534","a",771.59375,"01-1534",771.59375,1,0
"01-1706","c",772.66875,"01-1706",772.66875,1,0
"01-1828","a",773.43125,"01-1828",773.43125,1,0
"01-1954","a",774.21875,"01-1954",774.21875,1,0
 

greenthumb

Colorado DB Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
1,940
Is this an L3Harris system? I missed who won this...
 

Insulator

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
88
Location
Longmont Colo
Looking at the footprint of Boulder simulcast site, would it even be worth my time for me to put that system in my radio, since I live in NE Longmont? Opinions????
 

scanlist

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
2,066
Location
Greeley, CO
Strong CC signal out here in S.E. Greeley. One of the sites is at Gunbarrel.

No voice activity noted on it so far.
 

Spitfire8520

Might be completely clueless! =)
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,878
Location
Colorado
Looking at the footprint of Boulder simulcast site, would it even be worth my time for me to put that system in my radio, since I live in NE Longmont? Opinions????
The range circles in the RadioReference Database is supposed to be for mobile operations only. The idea is that someone who is using GPS with their scanners will automatically enable and disable systems and sites as they move around. The circle has been selected to cover the City of Boulder boundaries and will enable scanners within the city, but not those that are outside of the city.

If the database used ideal coverage models for its range circles, then folks trying to use GPS would be listening to sites and talkgroups from several counties over. Trying to use circles to represent coverage models is also not that great since terrain is a major factor. Someone might be able to hear a mountain top site 30 miles away because they are a certain direction from the site with directional rooftop antenna, but a majority of folks would lose reception after just 5 miles.
 

Insulator

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
88
Location
Longmont Colo
I am trying to enter the new City of Boulder pd/f2f system. I have entered all of the controll channels along with the known talk groups. No strength bars-nada. Do I need to include the bandplans, bass, offset, spacing and bandwidth? Or am I just in a bad local in Longmont? Thanks for everyones help in the past.
 

Insulator

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
88
Location
Longmont Colo
Thanks for the reply Vizwar. I live at one one of the highest points in Longmont-Stoney Ridge. Maybe I did something wrong. I put in all the control freq. and still no strength bars. Maybe I'm doing something wrong. Any ideas? Also is there any voice traffic yet? Thanks. Mark
 

Vizwar

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2010
Messages
32
Location
Boulder, CO
Put the trunk frequencies in a regular conventional bank and scan them just to see if you can hear the signal at all. If it lands on one (and it sounds P25 data) then troubleshoot your trunking configuration.
 

Insulator

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
88
Location
Longmont Colo
Ok. Put in the freqs. conventionally, got 5 bars reading on the strength. Created a new site, put all the freqs. in. Put I'ds in as scan. Did a search id's. Still just shows scan. It locks on 773.4312. Any other ideas would be greatly appreciated before I use this thing for target practice?
 

scanlist

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
2,066
Location
Greeley, CO
Testing has begun. Hearing a test tone cycling on 45001 and various automated voice testing on 45002 and 45003 in the clear.

FileVersion:8
-TowerInfo
#This section is here for information only. With the exception
#of the Call Sign(s), This data is not Read back into the program at all.
System ID : 43E
System Name : City Of Boulder
WACN : 00001
Tower Number (Decimal): 1-1
Tower Number (Hex) : T0101
Tower Description : Simulcast
Control Capabilities : Data,Voice,Registration
Flavor : Phase 2
Call Sign(s) :
Timestamp : Thu Jun 25 16:30:37 2020

-Tables
#Format: Table ID,Base Freq,Spacing,Input Offset,Assumed/Confirmed,BandWidth,Slots
00,851.00625,0.00625,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,1
01,762.00625,0.00625,30.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,1

-Frequencies
#Format: Channel,Usage,Frequency(/Slot),Input Channel,Input Frequency(/Slot),Input Explicit(1/0),Hit Count
"01-1136","c",769.10625,"01-1136",799.10625,0,0
"01-1240","a",769.75625,"01-1240",799.75625,0,0
"01-1406","v",770.79375,"01-1406",800.79375,0,37
"01-1828","cav",773.43125,"01-1828",773.43125,1,38
"01-1954","cav",774.21875,"01-1954",774.21875,1,38
"01-2062","v",774.89375,"01-2062",804.89375,0,1

.
 
Top