City of Cheyenne

Status
Not open for further replies.

KG7JEV

Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
128
Location
Cheyenne, WY
Is the city of cheyenne system analog or digital? I am trying to program a pro-97 and keep getting confused.
 

kd7gxu

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
205
Location
Archer, WY
Analog for now

The city 800 is analog and 3600 baud for now. There is talk of changing it to a node of Wyolink. It can go digital now but most of the firemen have analog radios.

I have these freqs loaded in my pro 97:

852.2625
852.7000 (this channel is coming up as a 9600 control channel SY1A4 BEE00 T0102, maybe Colorado?)
853.3000
853.5375
853.7500 control channel as of July 9 at 1100 am

You might have to take out 852.7 because it may not trunktrack with that signal coming in. I looked on the database and it appears to be in Jefferson County, but I have 99% signal on a stubby antenna in Cheyenne.

My 97 and 2055 have not been able to hear the city 800 as well since that 852.7 showed up. If anyone knows what this is please let us know....
 

scanlist

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
2,081
Location
Greeley, CO
Unfortunately the PRO-97 and 2055 can not be rebanded and will not track the Cheyenne 3600 Moto system. Cheyenne PD is still on the Laramie County analog VHF channels.

If 852.7000 is part of the 3600 Moto system and currently has a 9600 Control Channel it would appear that they are in the process of setting up a 9600 P25 digital only system.
 

kd7gxu

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
205
Location
Archer, WY
9600 baud channel

Today I plugged that 852.7 into procomm and it definately looks like they are getting ready to go P25. There were no radios affiliated and not really much info but I am pretty sure that it is smartzone and will be hooked into Wyolink. I wonder if Casper's 800 will be linked in as well.

I have listend to the 3600 system on my 2055 and 97 and it does decode TGIDs. The only catch was once in a while I would hear the control channel and have to press scan to get it going again. The pro 96 seemed to track it ok as well. I guess we won't have to worry about the 3600 much longer.

The FE Warren fire dept moved off of analog vhf to the base trunk system so they cannot be monitored anymore. They only go to unsecure to talk to 911 dispatch when on mutual aid calls.
 

KG7JEV

Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
128
Location
Cheyenne, WY
So what I understand is PD is still analog, and fire is digital? What scanner would get this type of formatting? (I'm not trying to get off topic, sorry). I'm new to the whole digital thing.
 

KG7JEV

Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
128
Location
Cheyenne, WY
The city 800 is analog and 3600 baud for now. There is talk of changing it to a node of Wyolink. It can go digital now but most of the firemen have analog radios.

I have these freqs loaded in my pro 97:

852.2625
852.7000 (this channel is coming up as a 9600 control channel SY1A4 BEE00 T0102, maybe Colorado?)
853.3000
853.5375
853.7500 control channel as of July 9 at 1100 am

You might have to take out 852.7 because it may not trunktrack with that signal coming in. I looked on the database and it appears to be in Jefferson County, but I have 99% signal on a stubby antenna in Cheyenne.

My 97 and 2055 have not been able to hear the city 800 as well since that 852.7 showed up. If anyone knows what this is please let us know....

So can I just program these in the radio and be good?
 

kd7gxu

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
205
Location
Archer, WY
Cheyenne City

you should be. I would exclude 852.7. Today as I drove around I had my pro96 on Attenuator with a tiny antenna and I am pretty sure that the 9600 channel is coming from foxfarm, so it is not part of the current system. Make sure that you are in MOT mode in the channels and in the bank setting. Also, make sure that you don't put 911 or AMR vhf freqs in the same bank because they are patched into the 800 anyway.
 

Shrike

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
13
Location
Casper, WY
Cheyenne City

There is an update in the RR database that shows a new WYOLINK site of Cheyenne City, site 102, which is all 800 MHz frequencies. 852.7 is shown as a control channel. The 1A4 and BEE000 system data you are showing is the correct WYOLINK system ID. So pretty obviously they are converting to be another WYOLINK node.

Mike
Casper, Wyoming
 

GOLDENDOME

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2005
Messages
63
Cheyenne Fire

Heard Cheyenne Fire on WYOLINK today, also they are crosspatching to their 800 system.
 

kd7gxu

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
205
Location
Archer, WY
P25

Cheyenne fire is running digital now. I have posted the info to the database. They might still be analog too but if they are I can't find the analog control channel. The control channel is 853.75 so if you have a digital scanner you can just put that freq in and it will work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top