CLMRN (was CSERN)

doctordialtone

Member
Timeout for bad behavior
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
1,949
Location
CT
How can I hear troop g
You need a scanner capable of hearing it.

The system is currently Phase I but may in the future upgrade to Phase II.

Here is a listing of Uniden scanners:

The SDS series is the most recent model and top-of-the-line.

I use a 325P2, 396XT and 996XT model with great results. Others may recommend other models.

What is your location? You may want to update your profile with your location so people can help you.

Good luck!
 

Pat1053

Newbie
Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
3
Location
Bridgeport ct
You need a scanner capable of hearing it.

The system is currently Phase I but may in the future upgrade to Phase II.

Here is a listing of Uniden scanners:

The SDS series is the most recent model and top-of-the-line.

I use a 325P2, 396XT and 996XT model with great results. Others may recommend other models.

What is your location? You may want to update your profile with your location so people can help you.

Good luck!
What the frequency... and I am in Bridgeport ct
 

zuzuski

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2016
Messages
60
Location
New London, CT
How about Norwich? What talk groups are they on? Has anyone figured them out yet? With five fire departments, a PD, and a paid ambulane how many channels do you think they will get?
 

coolrich55

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
489
Location
connecticut
Funny you guys mention Norwich today. I was driving behind one of their vehicles today and saw an antenna that looked exactly like what Stonington pd has on theirs.
 

PhillyPhoto

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2003
Messages
511
Location
Wethersfield, CT
My understanding is DSD+ and Unitrunker will not work when Phase II is turned on.
I know this is from a ways back, but I just wanted to point out that DSD+ Fast Lane decodes TDMA no problem. I did the $25 with lifetime upgrades.

2 dongles and DSD+ FL gets you P2 (and DMR) for under $100.
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,524
Location
BEE00
The most recent releases of DSD+ Fast Lane can track trunked systems (including P25 TDMA) using a single dongle. No longer necessary to use two.
 

PhillyPhoto

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2003
Messages
511
Location
Wethersfield, CT
The most recent releases of DSD+ Fast Lane can track trunked systems (including P25 TDMA) using a single dongle. No longer necessary to use two.
I have to use 2 to hear voice. If the voice channel falls within the 2MHz bandwidth of the CC dongle, it might work though.

Unless you're talking about something else?
 

cg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 13, 2000
Messages
3,080
Location
Connecticut
Something else.
Using the latest version of DSDPlus Fast Lane, you can trunktrack using 1 SDR. But wait, don't retire the other one, you can run multiple sites with the same set of files and hardware by simply adding a SDR for each additional site and creating a couple new batch files. Read about in the Notes file.

chris
 

PhillyPhoto

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2003
Messages
511
Location
Wethersfield, CT
Something else.
Using the latest version of DSDPlus Fast Lane, you can trunktrack using 1 SDR. But wait, don't retire the other one, you can run multiple sites with the same set of files and hardware by simply adding a SDR for each additional site and creating a couple new batch files. Read about in the Notes file.

chris
Yeah, that's what I do now. I was saying to use 2 dongles for control channel + voice. I have a folder for each system I want to monitor to keep the groups and other info nice and neat. I even created a batch file to launch the various systems.

I didn't even know you had to use 2 previously for trunk tracking if that's the case.
 

WoodburyMan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 9, 2017
Messages
201
Location
Woodbury, CT
I know this is from a ways back, but I just wanted to point out that DSD+ Fast Lane decodes TDMA no problem. I did the $25 with lifetime upgrades.

2 dongles and DSD+ FL gets you P2 (and DMR) for under $100.
The most recent releases of DSD+ Fast Lane can track trunked systems (including P25 TDMA) using a single dongle. No longer necessary to use two.
I have to use 2 to hear voice. If the voice channel falls within the 2MHz bandwidth of the CC dongle, it might work though.

Unless you're talking about something else?
Yep! I think i posted that a long time ago. I switched to DSD+ Fastlane and found it does P2 just fine on Troop F that has some CT-Transit TG's that are P2. I still like Unitrunker's interface for browsing a system and discovery, but DSD+ FL is way better at decoding.

I also use multiple SDR's with mine. At work I'm in range of Troop L, A, and I CC's. L is 800mhz so I use a 2nd SDR to monitor that, and another for A and I since they're within 2mhz of each other in the 700mhz range. I have two small Cell Phone Yagi's I set up on my cube wall, pointed off in directions, and let it sit at my laptop all day gathering up new TG's.

I also set up a small Lenovo 11e EDU laptop I have with DSD+ FL, created a bunch of batch files with the states different CC's set up, and can use that as a mobile scanner. The laptop I got like 3 years ago for less than $200.. two SDR's... Full fledged scanner for way less than any retail one. Even though I own a SDS100 and SDS200 LOL.
 

PhillyPhoto

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2003
Messages
511
Location
Wethersfield, CT
I still like Unitrunker's interface for browsing a system and discovery, but DSD+ FL is way better at decoding.
If UniTrunker and DSD+ ever collaborated, I'd drop $50 on the combined software. UT for the interface (and EDACS while Hartford is still on it), and DSD+ for the voice decoding. Heck, TCP support for the voice channel would be nice so you don't have to mess around with virtual audio cable, which DSD+ always complains about.
 

WoodburyMan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 9, 2017
Messages
201
Location
Woodbury, CT
If UniTrunker and DSD+ ever collaborated, I'd drop $50 on the combined software. UT for the interface (and EDACS while Hartford is still on it), and DSD+ for the voice decoding. Heck, TCP support for the voice channel would be nice so you don't have to mess around with virtual audio cable, which DSD+ always complains about.
Agreed! I'd do the same. Just a TCP output in Unitrunker would make it so much nicer to run DSD+ and Unitrunker at the same time. VAC is so messy and I found it never works as well as TCP. I just hate having the extra drivers installed. Plus being able to have remote sites. I have a Pi3 sitting at a buddies house doing ADS-B decoding, I was gonna throw a 2nd SDR on there and 800mhz antenna to pick up other sites I can't get from home with DSD+ FL at least.
 

cg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 13, 2000
Messages
3,080
Location
Connecticut
Not to prolong the off topic swerve but several things to clarify.
- If you use DSDPlus FL in the past with 2 dongles, you now only need 1. The SDR sits on the CC and then leaves it to go to the Voice Channel. I use a single SDR with Troop H Site with a mix of 700 and 800 channels and it works fine with just the 1 SDR.
- If you have 3 Sites you can hear, you can set up DSDPlus FL to work with 3 SDR dongles all out of a single folder using the same .GROUPS, .RADIOS, etc for all the systems/sites you are monitoring.
- PI's are too weak for running DSDPlus. Anything but an Intel chip works lees than ideal (if at all)

chris
 
Top