• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Columbus Fire Feed

Status
Not open for further replies.

mmartinfan

Member
Banned
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
1,131
Location
In a house in Ohio
Well good news on the MAC front. I was able to get Windows installed on it. So far after some testing this week it is 100% reliable. When I get back from Rhode Island Monday I will have the feed set back up shortly afterwards.


Nice double post BTW.
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
4,346
Location
Ohio
mmartinfan said:
Well good news on the MAC front. I was able to get Windows installed on it.
Quitter. Going back to that sorry excuse for an OS.... :)

So far after some testing this week it is 100% reliable.
Of course. It's running on a Mac, with far better hardware standards and tolerances than your run of the mill Windoze machine...

:)

Tom
 

19TbirdSC91

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
30
Location
Hilliard, OH
mmartinfan said:
Well good news on the MAC front. I was able to get Windows installed on it. So far after some testing this week it is 100% reliable. When I get back from Rhode Island Monday I will have the feed set back up shortly afterwards.


Nice double post BTW.
sorry about the double post thing, my computer is acting kind of weird right now...

and thanks for working on getting that feed back up, i appreciate it a lot.
 

mmartinfan

Member
Banned
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
1,131
Location
In a house in Ohio
wa8pyr said:
Quitter. Going back to that sorry excuse for an OS.... :)



Of course. It's running on a Mac, with far better hardware standards and tolerances than your run of the mill Windoze machine...

:)

Tom

Mac yes sorry excuse for a OS. :p
 

19TbirdSC91

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2006
Messages
30
Location
Hilliard, OH
i will agree that mac hardware is pretty impressive, and mac software MAY be nice and even better than MS, BUT there is way more available for MS, making it better to have.
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
4,346
Location
Ohio
19TbirdSC91 said:
i will agree that mac hardware is pretty impressive, and mac software MAY be nice and even better than MS, BUT there is way more available for MS, making it better to have.
And with the new Intel-based Macs, Windows can be run using Parallels (virtual PC program) so that the Windows programs you must have can be run, and other work done in Mac simply by minimizing Parallels. I've been running Win96, ARC396, ARC246 and ARC250 this way and have found them to run flawlessly.

You can also boot the Intel Mac into Windows with Boot Camp; however, I've found that WinXP runs better under Parallels than by itself. Go figure.....

Sure wish Micro$oft would go with a Windoze GUI over top of Unix; it would make for a far more stable, secure and reliable OS. I recently saw the prices for Vista; made me glad I switched to Mac!!

Tom WA8PYR
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top