comfortableProgramming issue?

Otter234

Hey everyone, I'm back with another question as some of you guys know I am pretty new to the whole scanning hobby and was wondering if some of the veterans of this hobby can help me out. I was questioning my programming skills thinking I'm loosing a lot of channels, Because I just keep finding more and more to program in to listen to. I feel that I could be listening to a whole lot more in my area and was hoping some one would help me out that already has the L.A area programmed and feels confident to post it so I can put it in to mine. I know its asking for all your blood sweat and tiers just to post it but it would deeply help me out a lot to finally use it to best of the capability. If you want you can PM me the file or whatever feels comfortable to you. Thx again to those....

Eng74

It is kind of a catch 22 issue. The more you scan the more you can miss too if you are using one radio, especially in LA.

wtp

i have 5 older radios on my desk to put the analog stuff in and free up the main radio (digital)
yes, the more you try and listen to, the less you hear,
even one radio to put the quieter freqs in can help.
one radio of mine has the space station and state forestry
next has mutual aid and some mil air
next has the DEA
next has business stuff
last has a mix of active ones

ladn

Explorer of the Frequency Spectrum
Premium Subscriber
Southern California and sometimes Owens Valley
I was questioning my programming skills thinking I'm loosing a lot of channels, Because I just keep finding more and more to program in to listen to.
You need to learn to be selective in your scanning and programming. It's an acquired skill and you have to realize that with one scanner, you can't listen to everything.

For instance, my primary scanner at my home office desk is an (ancient) BC250D. In my main "LA Metro" bank I monitor:
  • LAPD valleywide tac
  • LAPD citywide tac
  • LAPD Metro/SWAT
  • LASD A-tac and L-Tac for my area