BCD436HP: COMPARED TO BCD325P2

Status
Not open for further replies.

JJMNIZ

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
66
Location
MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN
I know that the 436 has three batteries while the 325 has two, and that the 436 has more features. However does anyone know if the RF, IF, or decoder circuitry was improved in the 436?
 

N4DJC

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
701
Location
Upstate
I'd be interested to know myself, but I doubt there is a definitive answer.

The 436 is a bit easier to initially program with the internal database while It's a lot more complicated when digging into the features.

If I were primarily interested in analog and non simulcast P-25, the for factor of the 325 is appealing. But the battery life is pretty dismal.
 

tvengr

Well Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
5,666
Location
Baltimore County, MD
The 436 is a little better with simulcast systems than the 325, but nowhere near as good as the SDS100. For non-simulcast and analog, the 325 will do an excellent job. If you want to use it in just your local area, the nationwide database is not of much use to you. You will not have any SD card issues with the 325. The 325 may not have all of the bells and whistles of the 436, but it is a workhorse of a scanner. It can also do DMR and NXDN with paid upgrades. You can carry spare charged batteries or a USB battery pack with you. You can program it with FreeSCAN. I see that you are a premium subscriber. You can download the programming from the Radio Reference database or do it manually with the software. I use Butel ARC-XT for programming my 325.
 
Last edited:

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
10,237
Location
Macomb Twp, Michigan
If you don't need the entire RR database stored in your scanner, I much prefere the BCD325P2, and I owned both on a couple of occasions over the years. The display is much easier to read even though it's smaller. It's easier to operate and carry.
 

jimg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
921
Location
So. Middle TN
Can you program the 325 P2 by hand, and what about it won't track DMR without the LCNs?
jimg
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
9,974
Location
NW Tenn
With the 325p2 you have to know the DMR and NXDN LCN's
With the 436hp you can find the LCNs
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top