Control Channels - help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

bugmenot2019

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
6
Hello Guys,

I want to program frequencies for a trunked system on the Bc246t using the RR database.

Example page : http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=844

I am new to this, but I believe that I only have to program the Red and Blue frequencies - is this correct?

Is it alright to program all (black, red, and blue) the frequencies listed for a system? And then, there are some systems that do not have any frequencies highlighted in Red or Blue - am I to understand that all of these definitely need to be programmed?

Thanks IA, Zac
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,491
Location
Bowie, Md.
Yes, you need only program the red and blue freqs. If you program all of them, it's a little wasteful of system resources, but would definitely work - particularly if no control channels are listed. This way you are sure that at least ONE of them will be the control channel.

Another thing here - if you wish to program more than one site, you must make new systems for each one.

Remember that any talkgroup listed with 'D' (digital) or 'E' (encrypted) in the Mode column cannot be monitored by the 246. Nothing can handle the encrypted talkgroups.

You might want to jump over to the Oklahoma forum and see if someone has a file you can use to get you started. If you use BCTool or FreeScan, you can use UASD (Uniden Advanced System Director) files as input. Alternately if you get a premium subscription you can use the Web service to download data into the software editor.

Here are some links (anything in blue and/or underlined)

Subscription: http://www.radioreference.com/apps/subscription/

BCTool (note that if you decide to get this software, be sure to join the Yahoo group and get the latest version): http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/BcTool

FreeScan: http://scannow.org/

Note that FreeScan has it's own support forums on it's website. BCTool's support forum is on Yahoo groups 73 Mike

73 Mike
 
Last edited:

bugmenot2019

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
6
73 Mike, great info - thanks alot!

Question though, You said "if you wish to program more than one site, you must make new systems for each one."

Interesting and informative, but why is it that when using freescan one can add multiple sites to one group..?

zac..
 

UPMan

In Memoriam
Uniden Representative
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,296
Location
Arlington, TX
The scanner will lock onto the first control channel it can detect. That CCh might or might not be for a site that is the best site for what you want to receive.
 

UPMan

In Memoriam
Uniden Representative
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,296
Location
Arlington, TX
You can, but if more than one of the sites is within reception range, the scanner will only pick up the first site it detects.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,491
Location
Bowie, Md.
Multi site programming is supported by the BCD996 and BCT15, not the 246, I'm afraid

73 Mike
 

slicerwizard

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
6,793
Location
Toronto, Ontario
So, am I to understand that I can not program multiple sites to one system even when there are several sites using the same groups..?

Example : "City of Tulsa System" http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=844
You can, but you may find yourself locking out (control) channels to force the scanner to monitor a specific site. You may or may not find that preferable to having the same system programmed in to your scanner multiple times. With the 246T's limited complement of System Quick Keys, you may not want to use them up on one trunking system. The choice is yours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top