Couple of Questions regarding the 500

Status
Not open for further replies.

areeceepb

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
26
Location
Glasgow, KY
Ok, i've looked over the user guide and manual.. and i'm not finding where this information is..

1) How do set a frequency into another bank or "scan list" other then 1. Do I have to fill all of 1 out to go to the next?

2) What type of frequencies do I put in Skywarn?


Sorry if these are ignorant.. i'm just used to the Pro-96, i'm now trying to learn this psr-500. Thanks!!
 

mikey60

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
3,530
Location
Oakland County Michigan
areeceepb said:
2) What type of frequencies do I put in Skywarn?
Skywarn frequencies would be objects that you want to scan whenever there is severe weather in your area. Typically these would be Amateur radio frequencies, and maybe some local public safety frequencies.

Mike
 

JoeyC

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,450
Location
San Diego, CA
areeceepb said:
2) What type of frequencies do I put in Skywarn?
You can put any kind of freqs in.
Skywarn (& Favorites) are just lists. I have aviation freqs in my Skywarn list.
 

areeceepb

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
26
Location
Glasgow, KY
Ok.. thanks guys!

I assumed it had to do with severe weather. But I just wanted to double check before I throw frequences in there that really didnt belong.

Thanks again!
 

areeceepb

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
26
Location
Glasgow, KY
Ok.. here is another question.. and this one is really starting to irritate me..

Ok, in reference to the first question I thought I had figured out.. why do the frequences I put in scan list 2 or 3 also copy in scan list 1? Is there not a way I can have all my police frequences in list 1, utilities in 2, etc...?

EDIT: Ok nevermind, I figured that one out also. I didnt realize you had to deselect talkgroup 1.. I figured it'd automatically do it.
 
Last edited:

KevinGC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
41
Location
Grove City, Ohio USA
Your default scan list is set to list 1, so it will always assume you want it in list 1. When you are in programming mode and selecting a scan list to put it in, when the scan list 1 has an asterisk next to it, just hit your select button to remove the asterisk from scan list one. Then, arrow over to whatever scan list you want it to be in and hit the select button to add it to that scan list. (Asterisk will appear next to it)
 

pathalogical

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
1,307
Location
Toronto, Canada
If I could jump in with a quick question, I don't have a 500, but I've been reading the manual and may have overlooked it...What is that symbol to the bottom right of the backlight button ?
 

DonS

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,106
Location
Franktown, CO
pathalogical said:
If I could jump in with a quick question, I don't have a 500, but I've been reading the manual and may have overlooked it...What is that symbol to the bottom right of the backlight button ?
"Spectrum Sweeper": the mode you get when you press FUNC then SCAN.
 

RoninJoliet

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
2,906
Location
ILL
On the question about the "Skywarn" SList, if you put the scanner in "manual" and use the right or left arrows to scroll to the Skywarn SList you can enter freqys in it by hand....Also you can enter a freqy in any SList and before pressing F1 (save) you scroll down the menu to "SKYWARN" on or off, if you set it to "on" is will automaticly enter into the Skywarn list....
 

KevinGC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
41
Location
Grove City, Ohio USA
And now you MAY just hear me when listening to a skywarn channel...lol.
My Ham ticket finally got listed in the FCC database today.
 

DonS

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,106
Location
Franktown, CO
The PSR-500's "SkyWarn" scan list is the same as any other scan list. It can hold whatever you want (CONV channels, TGRPs, SRCH and SWPR objects).

The only thing that's "special" about the SkyWarn scan list is that it's only scanned when you press FUNC WX. In that way, it's very much like the "FAV" scan list (which is only scanned when you hit the FAV key).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top