Yaesu: Creating my own Fusion repeater

I’m a new ham as of just a couple weeks ago. So, I’m trying to learn as much about this hobby as possible. I have a Yaesu FT-70D and an FTM-500D. I’ve played around with the HT a little but just barely received the mobile yesterday. In my area there aren’t any Fusion repeaters. There is one about 45-50 miles north of me. I plan to install an antenna on the roof of my house and use my mobile as a base station when I don’t have it in my truck. I got to thinking, what if I were to create my own Fusion repeater at my house? I live next to a major interstate. I wonder if that would serve people traveling through? Obviously I’m very new to all this so I may be way off on it. I don’t understand nodes and rooms right now. I’m trying to sort that out. It’s a little tough since I don’t have a Fusion repeater closer to me. Any thoughts about any of this? Sorry if it seems like I’m rambling a little. It’s hard to convey what I have in mind.

MTS2000des

5B2_BEE00 Czar
Why bother with the expense of a repeater which, to do right, can cost thousands and to be effective, you need a good site which can costs thousands a month in expenses when you can spend about what a week's worth of groceries cost today and buy a hot spot? This will allow you to connect to YSF repeaters, reflectors, rooms, etc all over and plenty of people to talk to. I recommend the OpenSpot 4/4 Pro. You can even cross mode into D-Star and DMR reflectors and repeaters and have even more fun.

I was wondering about setting up a repeater so that I could connect to the Fusion repeater that’s north of me without having to use the internet. I also wondered if it would give travelers along the interstate (right by where the repeater would be) an option for communicating.

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator