Crime App 'Citizen' Lays Off Dozens of Employees

mkielsmeierhb

MK Productions
Premium Subscriber
Citizen going under won't reverse the course of that ship, though. Independent photographers selling their pictures is the old fashioned way of doing it, love it or hate it. People are willing to just provide all that for free and put it out there on the internet.
the difference is the quality and the fact that from my understanding Citizen has an agreement that any news station can us it free of charge with credit to citizen. The people sending in videos most times think they will get paid out of it and never will.

trentbob

W3BUX- Bucks County, PA
Premium Subscriber
Times have changed with smartphones and videos on public platforms. When I first started driving in the late sixties I had been listening to police calls on tunable monitors for a number of years since I was a young kid, I'm retired now from a large daily where I was an editor.

I had my own dark room at age 16 and could make up black and white 8x10s that could be used by the local newspapers as soon as I got the print to them.

They weren't looking just for the picture, pix worth a lot more if you have the story too and I always did, had all the details of what happened, talked to witnesses, talked to the cops who were more cooperative with someone who actually was affiliated as a stringer with a paper, with credentials, if I had a cop in the picture which of course, I always did, I spelled their name right in the paper. I would get the phone number of the cop or fire chief who was handling the report.

There were rules to follow, protocols, and yes, I got paid.

Bottom line, you deal right with the newspaper or the the TV station directly, only sell them first rights for their affiliates use only

Just to add to follow up on some of the comments here, real professional news photographers video or still get the photos or video long before anyone knows they're there. I always did that.