• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

CTAS 1 & 2 Patches to Hospital

Status
Not open for further replies.

hemsmedic2001

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2004
Messages
14
Hiya Everyone,

I was just wondering if anyone else had experienced issues with not hearing ambulance to hospital patches i.e. Hearing the hospital but not the crew. I was thinking that it may be related to not having the hospital talkgroups in my tgids but I'm a little unsure. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks and hope everyones staying cool in this 46 degree weather!!

Thanks again,
hemsmedic2001
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
5,548
Location
Ontario, Canada
Are you scanning in ID Search mode or ID Scan mode? 99% of the time around here, the hospital talkgroup is the supergroup and is the ID that shows on the scanner. Every once in a while though the hospital TG gets patched first and is the ID that shows. If you are in ID Scan mode, and don't have the hospital talkgroup programmed in, that could cause you trouble. Or... are you saying you see the patch but only hear 1 side of the conversation?
 

MetalCarnage

Member
Joined
May 12, 2005
Messages
735
Location
Ajax Ontario
hemsmedic2001 said:
Hiya Everyone,

I was just wondering if anyone else had experienced issues with not hearing ambulance to hospital patches i.e. Hearing the hospital but not the crew. I was thinking that it may be related to not having the hospital talkgroups in my tgids but I'm a little unsure. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks and hope everyones staying cool in this 46 degree weather!!

Thanks again,
hemsmedic2001
Cant report any probs from here, have both a 250D and 796D both of them i have no probs with patches, as stated above, it must be something with your setup
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
I have the reverse problem and usually only hear the crew not the hospital. I was told a while back that it was because the crew was close enough to be on the site that I am monitoring and the hospital is catching another site. I do find that when I'm monitoring the other tower...when close enough to do so I will hear both sides. Maybe something similar for where you are?
 

hemsmedic2001

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2004
Messages
14
Thanks guys for both of your replies, I usually scan in ID Scan mode so when I switch to Mississauga Tac 3 I can hear the patch being setup, no actual patch and then the staff at the hospital responding (usually they say "we copy"). I"m thinking Forts that you hit the nail on the head, perhaps I need to program the appropriate hospital tgids if I want to listen in ID Scan mode, so I guess my next question is does anybody have a list of the Halton Region hospital tgids, I know RR already had a great list but just wanted to check and see if anybody else has had luck figuring them out. Again thanks for your help!!

Thanks in advance,
hemsmedic2001
 

hemsmedic2001

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2004
Messages
14
Thanks for the reply Wheelchair, I'm not very close to any of the towers so perhaps I should purchase a better antenna than the one Uniden supplied me with!! Maybe I would get more gain and then better reception from one of the towers. I appreciate all of your help and if anybody else has any ideas I'd be glad to try them out to get down to the bottom of this!!

Thanks in advance,
hemsmedic2001
 

jellotor

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
1,070
Location
Hamilton, ON
There are three hospitals listed in the DB...OTMH, Joe Brant and an 'unknown' which I believe (and if I was anywhere near my trunker files I could probably confirm) is the Milton hospital, talkgroup 36320.

I don't know of any other hospitals in Halton Region, but sometimes I miss things like that.
 

pathalogical

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
1,305
Location
Toronto, Canada
Which system are you monitoring ? Peel ? OPP ? None was mentioned in your post.

In listening to TPS I have heard the two way comms between ems and a hospital, usually a doctor. TGID's are 25904, 25920, 25936. Type of comms are usually about additional meds a patient needs before arriving at hospital or if a patient meets stroke guidelines. Or sometimes a patient being pronounced at xx:xx time. ID's from 25698-26488, the named hositals, I have never seen them pop up at all, therefore I don't have them programmed in a group. My guess is that you may have to be inside that particular hospital to hear that TGID, as is the case with ACC/Rogers Centre. Has anyone ever heard the hospital ID's ???
 

EJB

Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2002
Messages
3,339
Location
Downtown Hamilton
Path; It sounds like he was referring to patches with Hospitals outside of Toronto, on fleetnet.
To answer your question,i have never heard the individual hospital patches in Toronto on the talk groups dedicated to the hospitals. I also havent heard 25936, medcom in months although it is not like my radio is on 24/7.
Perhaps cell phones are replacing radio's for sensitive info ( the rights of patients to remain confidential???).
If you remember air ambulance used to use their radios a hell of a lot more in relaying patient info to doctors. Now I think (mentioned on Yahoo group) they use satillite phones.
 

hemsmedic2001

Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2004
Messages
14
Hey Guys,

Once again thanks for the replies, I was referring to Fleetnet and I should have been more specific. I'm going to try inputting the hospital tgids today and see what happens. I'll keep you guys informed as to if it works or not. I've got a pretty good idea that MDH is Milton and GEH I'm assuming is more than likely Georgetown so hopefully it'll work out. Again thanks for all of your replies and I'll keep you posted as to what happens!!

Thanks again,
hemsmedic2001
 

gwtc199

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
182
Location
Chatham, ON
Fleetnet Patches

Here in Chatham-Kent the Wallaceburg CACC patches to the hospitals using Tac 3 for Chatham-Kent and Tac 2 for Lambton County. With me being in the City of Chatham I can pick up everything for both counties including the hospital patches for Sarnia General Hospital(over 100km away!!). Try programing all of the TAC TG's and the known Hospital TG's in your area, if that doesn't work try setting your scanner to Trunk Search.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top