CubicSDR on Linux becomes laggy after 2 hours of use

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaymot

Hi. I'm new to SDR but not to monitoring. I just got a Nooelec SMArt HF bundle which includes their Ham It Up 1.3 upconverter in an aluminum case, 3 antennas, various connectors, adapters, etc. I use MX Linux 19.4 AHS which is based on the current Debian Stable 10 (Buster) but with the 5.10 LTS kernel and more recent graphics and mesa stacks for newer computers and video cards. I'm using CubicSDR 0.25 from an AppImage file as the natively-installed version crashes with a segmentation fault on Debian 10 systems. I've noticed that after using CubicSDR for a couple of hours it starts to become laggy and slower to respond to mouse clicks, dragging to change frequencies, etc. and I have to close and reopen the program. It acts like a buffer gets full or something. It's not my computer as I have a fairly new system with a gaming motherboard (Asus TUF Gaming B450M PRO), a Ryzen 7 3700X CPU (3GHz 8 cores 16 threads) and 32GB of DDR4 RAM. I'm also running the operating system and my applications from a 500GB M.2 NVMe solid-state drive with 175GB of free space. I typically have Firefox open with 4 or 5 tabs at the same time to various websites pertaining to radio such as a greyline map, a frequency lookup site, Wikipedia's page on shortwave radio bands, and one or two others. I'm not having issues with any other applications, just with this one. CPU and other temperatures are OK and CPU utilization, while higher when using Cubic, is still OK, usually 2.6 to 2.8GHz. (BTW my video card is a Biostar Radeon RX 560 with 4GB of GDDR5 RAM.)

My usage pattern is typically to widen the main spectrum to show a wider range of frequencies then narrow it again when I see what looks like a signal, click on it to listen, then if it's not something I'm interested in or is just noise or a birdie to clear my recent(s) then continue exploring the spectrum. Lather, rinse, repeat.