Current consensus on P25 streaming setup on Raspberry Pi?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dextergiii

Firstly, thank you to all the contributors on this site. I'm an extreme noob to SDR but I've been able to leverage the information here to setup my system using 2 SDR dongles, SDRtrunk, and am now streaming to broadcastify. Yesterday I was listening to the feed and heard mention of the tac teams switching to BDC V-15, etc... I wanted to tune in but then realized I'd disrupt the broadcastify feed.

Ultimately, I'm curious how to get around this constraint. I first thought about using a Raspberry Pi... there's a lot of information here about streaming AM or AirTraffic using the bcfy image (which I'm struggling to understand how to incorporate trunking capability). I've also found a lot of information using hardware scanners plugged into a Pi soundcard which doesn't apply to my setup. Lastly, using a pi might transfer the processing burden from my desktop to a raspberry, but still not allow me to play around with the same dongles while streaming.

Is it possible to use a Raspberry Pi to not only stream a P25 system but also act as a local tcp server which I could access via my desktop to tune into frequencies other than & without disrupting the stream? If not, is there an efficient way to simultaneously stream and "play around" without buying 2x antennas, receivers, laptops, etc?

Thanks in advance for anyone's input.

SaSal

If the SDR's are being used for streaming - then no - cannot play around and keep the stream up.

Adding additional SDR's however would then allow you to play - no need for extra antennas or laptops though. - use a coax splitter - comes in various flavors - and hook all the SDR's up to the 1 antenna via the splitter . As for laptop - use a good quality powered USB hub, - and run the SDR's through the hub.