• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Delay Time with Pro-96

Status
Not open for further replies.

sublime40

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2006
Messages
19
Can you adjust the delay time with the pro96? i cant find it in the manual or in win96. i also tried to search for it here, i cant find anything.

thanks for the help
 

sublime40

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2006
Messages
19
on the channels page, that adjustment is for trunking talkgroups only.

in the manual, on page 66, it says nothing about changing the delay time. its either on or off on the 96 i guess. 2 seconds isnt hardly enough....
 

jeffrey420

Member
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
357
According to the specs page the only options are 2 seconds or none for conventional.
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,356
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
I have a PRO-92 which has Delay options of 2 seconds or OFF. I find that the longest delay I REALLY get is no more than 1 second. Trunking channels have no measurable delay; AM (aircraft) have a very short delay. From my point of view this is a HUGE S/W BUG!!!
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
gmclam said:
I have a PRO-92 which has Delay options of 2 seconds or OFF. I find that the longest delay I REALLY get is no more than 1 second. Trunking channels have no measurable delay; AM (aircraft) have a very short delay. From my point of view this is a HUGE S/W BUG!!!
Actually the delay time in a Pro-92 is adjustable, get the Win92 freeware from Starrsoft.com.
 

VintageJon

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2005
Messages
569
I just press "PAUSE" when I want to stay with something. When I decide it's not worth the time, press "PAUSE" or "Scan" and it moves on ...

Highly suggest you put talk groups in a couple of banks, depending on how many you want, and set those banks to "LOCKED". Leave on bank "OPEN". Use others for other applications like Air, Amatuer,Other Cities, whatever.
Here I have two APCO25 banks with ID's I want for Travis County , one Air bank, one Williamson County Bank, One Owls and Martins Bank for my bird tracking interests, One OPEN APCO 25 for Travis/Williamson/Hays Countys, one for LCRA EDACS, and one for San Anotonio, Williamson County Public Service .

Email me at muse@texas.net and I can send WIN96 folder- assuming you are in Austin Tx as it will be little use otherwise.

I agree that an infinitely varible delay would be good. The longest longest lamp-on setting I can get even with Win96 is too short. (8188 seconds...)

It is "digital" but buttons still need continous pressing ...

-Jon
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
VintageJon said:
... The longest longest lamp-on setting I can get even with Win96 is too short. (8188 seconds...)
Jon,
Just press the light button until the scanner beeps (about 2 seconds) and the light stays on forever (or until you turn the scanner or light off).
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,356
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
After reading lots of stuff here, it seems to me there might be many "hidden commands" for Radio Shack scanners - things we're not told about in the user's manuals. I've always wanted to be able to turn the display light ON for example or set delay times. Does anyone have a list of such commands (from the keypad)?
THANKS,
George
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
gmclam said:
After reading lots of stuff here, it seems to me there might be many "hidden commands" for Radio Shack scanners - things we're not told about in the user's manuals. I've always wanted to be able to turn the display light ON for example or set delay times. Does anyone have a list of such commands (from the keypad)?
THANKS,
George
Well most of the Owner's Manuals for the GRE radios I own have a list of keypad functions in the back, and although they are not all encompassing, they do tell you most of the things. The bit about the light on the Pro-96 is explained in detail starting on page 72 of the OM and about the middle of page 73 it tells you how to turn in on as I described above.
 

VintageJon

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2005
Messages
569
Loumaag,
THANKS! I've done that and am trying it now. It beeps , lights out ,then lights on...
Lights On! Runs like a hose!

Great info, Sir!

Best,
Jon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top