descrambler needed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

C-Man

Hello every one I'm pretty new to the scanner world but I live in Maine and when I'm scanning I know i programed a lot more places then I'm receiving. Now i know that they are not digital so im all set there. I've got a Bearcat bct 15 trunk tracker 3 scanner with a 36" antenna and I'm mobile. i guess I'm led to believe maybe they police are scrambled? and if so can someone point me in the right direction for a good unscrambler or maybe tell me what is really going on? all the help i can get is much-o appreciated. thanks :)

qlajlu

Silent Key
Welcome to RR.com​
C-Man​

First, I urge you to return to your User CP (Left side of the second blue bar from the top on any page) and fill in your "Location" (city and state) in the details of your User Profile. That way your location will show automatically in each of your posts and so many questions and answers depend on location. It is also a simple courtesy for the rest of the members reading your posts.

I would also suggest that you ask these questions in your own state's forum (Maine). The local members will be familiar with the area and what can and cannot be accessed. You will find members always ready to help.

One word of advice, however. If your local PD is encrypted (scrambled) you will not be able to monitor them. Even if you could find a program to decode the encrypted transmissions it is illegal to do so. Other transmissions do not enjoy that legal protection unless your state or local laws have made it illegal to monitor emergency services radio traffic altogether. However, digital transmissions are often mistaken for encrypted because analog scanners cannot understand digital. Once again, your local forum will be able to answer this question.

Again, welcome, and enjoy this great hobby.

C-Man

hmm well it seems like i can not listen to he state police or even york county police which are the ones i want to hear. any suggestions pleasE?