Did the Philadelphia frequencies change

Status
Not open for further replies.

thunder8671

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
Messages
5
Hi all. I'm new to the scanner and just got a GRE-PSR-500. I used Win500 to web import the frequencies on Radio Reference to program the scanner and put in different lists of stuff to listen to. I live in the Far NE of Philadelphia. I can get some Montgomery County feeds and some Bucks County feeds and a lot of conversations on the Bristol Repeater. However , I never get any Philly Police, Fire or EMS calls at all. Did the frequencies change? If not, does anyone have suggestions? Thanks in advance.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

royldean

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
435
Location
Schwenksville, PA
Just drove through philly on the way back from Cape May, and picked up lots of police activity on my 436. I updated the master database about a week ago, so assuming you imported as of about a week ago, no - nothing has changed.
 

thunder8671

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
Messages
5
Cool thanks for the reply I'll clear everything out and try again. Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

radio3353

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 25, 2003
Messages
1,350
The RR Database does not show any changes for Philadelphia in at least the past 7 days.
 

trap5858

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 22, 2003
Messages
795
Location
Doylestown PA
Make sure you are assigning the right talk groups to the right system for Philly- Police are on system one if I recall correctly and pretty much every other city department is on system two.
 

royldean

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
435
Location
Schwenksville, PA
they are totaly different .. you need a scanner that receives phase 2
As saber has pointed out, I believe while you are correct about PI and PII being different, in this case Philly has Phase II equipment running a Phase I virtual system. Hence you should be able to get it just fine with a Phase I only scanner.

That is what I understand, at least.
 

saber2k5

Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
176
Location
Delaware County, PA
Yes, that is correct. A phase I radio or scanner will receive the Phila TRS. Of course, understand that the scanner will suffer LSM issues, a pro radio (APX) receives the system fine.
 

thunder8671

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2017
Messages
5
Thanks guys for the suggestions. Just to update I wiped scanner clean and reprogrammed again. I connect to philly and get a full signal but no sound at all looks like might have to get a new scanner [emoji19]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

NobodyS

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
21
Location
The Skook
I would recommend a phase II capable scanner as the philly system is capable of phase II. Never know when they might upgrade to phase II
 

soberbyker

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
414
Location
Delaware County, PA
I have a Radio Shack Pro-197 which was made by GRE and is basically the same as the GRE-PSR-600, the mobile version of the GRE-PSR-500 that you have thunder8671. The 197 is not phase 2 capable either.

I am currently listening to Philly PD, picking up various districts as well as the prisons, tow squad and a few others. So to answer your question, no things have not changed and I haven't updated the database in probably over a year. I am in Delaware County, PA outside of West Philly.
 

rjm022222

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
68
Location
Philadelphia, Pa
I have RS Pro-106 and had the same problem. So I programmed system 1 with everything except police and system 2 with police only and it works just fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top