Digital Talkgroups Internet vs Repeaters

C_615

Premium Subscriber
After many decades as a radio hobbyist, I am seriously considering getting my Ham license. In learning more about all the digital modes now available, I have a question that I can’t seem to find the answer to elsewhere: Does some talkgroup activity exist exclusively on the internet or is there always a repeater involved?

Let’s take for example a talkgroup on the Brandmeister Network. Let’s use TG 31124 (whether it’s real or not is irrelevant). Let’s say Person A and Person B are both using open spot to access the TG. Let’s also pretend that my local repeater has 31124 on it. Does the repeater transmit all traffic that occurs on that TG or only if Person A or Person B (or both) was using the repeater to access the TG?

I hope this makes sense, because what I am getting at is: is there more traffic on TGs than I’m hearing over my scanners and SDRs?

N4DES

Retired 0598 Czar ÆS Ø
In the C-Bridge (for a Moto) a talkgroup can be set full time or from an RF PTT. If it's set to RF PTT the repeater will remain muted until a local radio talks to it. I mix and match in mine with the local/state talkgroups are full time on and regional/nationwide are PTT only.

hill

Premium Subscriber
Depends.

Some talkgroups are fulltime. Meaning the are always on and are always coming from the repeater.

Others are Push to Talk (PTT) and are only local repeater when some one using it stays active for a length of time before it times out. The time it stays on is listed some are 10 minutes or 15 minutes.

K4EET

Chaplain
Premium Subscriber
After many decades as a radio hobbyist, I am seriously considering getting my Ham license. In learning more about all the digital modes now available, I have a question that I can’t seem to find the answer to elsewhere: Does some talkgroup activity exist exclusively on the internet or is there always a repeater involved?

<snip>