DMR HT Recommendations?

ArkTex

KA5AAA
Premium Subscriber
So I'm in the market for a new DMR HT, as that is what seems to be most popular around my QTH. I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations. My budget is $600 but can go up if absolutely necessary. I've been looking into the Kenwood NX-3300, as it seems like it's well liked reading some forum posts. P25 capability would be a plus but isn't absolutely necessary.

I'd like to hear any opinons/questions/comments ya'll might have. Trying to finally get into DMR.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
I've been looking into the Kenwood NX-3300, as it seems like it's well liked reading some forum posts. P25 capability would be a plus but isn't absolutely necessary.

I've got a bunch of the NX-3400's on my NXDN system, and I've got some NX-3300's running analog on a UHF system. Nice radios, a lot of features, durable and good audio. I'm not running them on DMR, however. I've been carrying a 3400 at work for about 5 years now, and I'm happy with it.

The programming software is a bit of a challenge to learn, if you are not well versed in the modern Kenwood stuff.

I've got about 75 of the NX-1300 on simplex DMR at a site. Less expensive radios, less features, but a good deal for the price. They've been in use for about a year by maintenance guys, and I haven't had any issues with them.

If you want P25 and DMR, then that would be the NX-5300, which you might find used for something close to that price, but new will be quite a bit higher. P25 and DMR are feature keys, so make sure any used radio you purchase actually has those features loaded in the radio. They are not free.

If I needed a DMR UHF radio, NX-3300 would be on my short list.

N4KVE

When I recently bought my R7, I sold my MINT Moto XPR7550 for $275. So for under $300, you can get a great radio. And Moto no longer charges for the CPS. But if you want DMR, & P25, Kenwood is the way to go. But it’ll be a lot more.

Spankymedic7