Do i something wrong?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
I got my Tecsun AN-200 and this adapter:

from this i have 2 adapter the the ballun.

Top: With Antenna
Bottom: Without Antenna
 

Attachments

Rred

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Messages
829
Clever little adapter! What do they call it, and where can it be ordered from?
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
Ebay Tscheina: 151440679237
2x for $3,63 USD shipping include (Europe -> Austria) and Yes it was in USD.
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
The link depend on the country you life in. In my case I use the .de Site (and no I am not from Germany...).
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
I receive just rubbish but no Radio or anything.
What is wrong? Wich Pin are use on the Antenna? R + Ground?
 

majoco

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2008
Messages
3,315
Location
New Zealand
I imagine the tip is the antenna and the sleeve is the ground - works for me. The throw-out wire that came with my Degen 1103 only has tip and sleeve.
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
The tecsun have 3 l, r ,g.
I hope someone have the antenna here to.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
22,127
Location
Bowie, Md.
Without knowing precisely which SDR you're using (I assume it's a RTL-SDR type with an upconverter), it's nearly impossible to be precise - but I suspect that little adapter by itself isn't going to work. At least some SDRs use F connectors, and that's a good old fashioned stereo plug that is often used on portables. You would need some sort of jumper that goes from a 1/8 inch stereo female to a male F connector (if that's what your SDR uses)

Next, keep in mind that antenna is only useful on the MW band (540-1600 khz). You must tune that antenna using that knob on the side. It won't work very well, if at all, higher than that. You will also likely have to adjust your gain on the SDR as that antenna doesn't have any amplification on it.

Mike
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
Hi
I got this:
http://www.rtl-sdr.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/BalunOneNine.jpg (Image is to large for direkt post).
A friend of mine say that i need this. Sorry I dont understand why or what does it do but when he say....
(Sadly he cant explain it .....)
I know its just for MW. In my Dads car (we have no other radio with mw) I got some Radio Channels in good Quality. With the Antenna -> nothing
The interesting question is which R or L is the "life" one? The Internet say R.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
22,127
Location
Bowie, Md.
That *might* work; however a much better (and more likely to work) approach is to get something off of a FM/AM stereo tuner. Many of these have an AM loop antenna that goes to a little black box, then is connected to the tuner. That little black box is what you want

It would take a considerable amount of explanation as to why - in fact, my old theory textbook has 3 chapters devoted to the subject - so at the risk of HIGHLY oversimplifying the issue, here goes nothing. Your loop is presenting a balanced load through those wires. (You can tell this by examining the wires - they're identical in every detail). It's likely someplace around 5 kohm or so. Your SDR expects a coax type load, which is typically 50-75 ohms or so (that's dependent on the SDR itself, I'm broadly generalizing here). So as you can see, we have a significant mismatch. Under such conditions. very little RF will flow. We need a transformer to go from a BALanced load to an UNbalanced load. Such a device is called a BALUN. The one in your pic might work, but it's more intended for use with antennas with a twin lead lead in or a single wire. It MAY work if the loop is presenting a load of around 450 ohms or so (which I doubt, frankly, but it's possible). It also might work if the antenna connection on the SDR is a bit more forgiving.

Still I think the balun from the AM loop antenna from a stereo tuner is much more likely to give better results. However the only thing you'll damage with trying what you've shown is your wallet if it doesn't work

Mike
 

majoco

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2008
Messages
3,315
Location
New Zealand
The part number of the SDR would help too - most of them have the socket you have shown on the balun, or just the push-on variety.
 
Last edited:

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
The part number of the SDR would help too
the are from china. The are (a clone of) the RTL whatever T2. I have some with a Power output and some without.
 

majoco

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2008
Messages
3,315
Location
New Zealand
They are all from China. I assume you mean one of these....the antenna socket is a with SMA female - your antenna lead needs the male pin. Why have you got a balun - what frequencies do you want to cover?
 
Last edited:

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
22,127
Location
Bowie, Md.
He got himself an AN-200 MW antenna (likely a knock off, as both Tecsun and Degen sell the same antenna), and he'll need to transform the loads.

He was thinking of getting one of those 9:1 baluns that are set up to work with these little SDRs, but as I tried to (over)simply explain to him, I kinda doubt the ratio is high enough to do the job. That's why I also suggested he get one of those little baluns that often come with an MW antenna when you get a FM stereo tuner - it's much more likely to work better

I'm pretty sure the OP is in Austria, and that is one of the many things that is heavily restricting what he can do...

Mike
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
22,127
Location
Bowie, Md.
Just a quick catch up - I'm pretty sure he's using an upconverter with his RTL stick, since these sticks don't go much below 25 Mhz or so...onward...Mike
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top