Does the antenna matter for scanners?

nocsgn

This is probably a dumb question, but I'm new to all this so please forgive me. I lost my GRE PSR-282 scanner antenna recently and would like to buy a new one. It's got an okay Rx range but I'm mostly interested in 108-174 MHz AM for airband monitoring. So far I know I'm looking for something with a BNC connector, but I found many options, starting from the standard bare-metal telescopic antennas to those little stubby ones like the SRH805S to long coiled ones to those from brands that I've actually heard of, like Nagoya. The one I lost (presumably the one that came with the scanner) was no longer than 15cm and of the rubber duck kind.

So, my question is, does it matter? Of course the size of the thing will affect the reception (I think?) but is there anything else I should be aware of before I buy one? The range of options suggests that there are functional differences between them and I'd like to know what to look out for.

Thanks

jtwalker

Premium Subscriber
Yes, which antenna matters. Length is generally related to the frequencies that you want to monitor, not longer is better. Look for an antenna that is rated well by others in your frequency band of interest.

Ensnared

Premium Subscriber
This is probably a dumb question, but I'm new to all this so please forgive me. I lost my GRE PSR-282 scanner antenna recently and would like to buy a new one. It's got an okay Rx range but I'm mostly interested in 108-174 MHz AM for airband monitoring. So far I know I'm looking for something with a BNC connector, but I found many options, starting from the standard bare-metal telescopic antennas to those little stubby ones like the SRH805S to long coiled ones to those from brands that I've actually heard of, like Nagoya. The one I lost (presumably the one that came with the scanner) was no longer than 15cm and of the rubber duck kind.