• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

double 2 tone pair

Status
Not open for further replies.

Golson2210

Member
Joined
May 4, 2006
Messages
98
Location
Brooklyn Park, MN
What is the trick for programming a double two tone pair? Fire Department uses 4 tones to activate the pagers. I'm only able to figure out 2 tone paging.
 

RBMTS

Active Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2002
Messages
1,095
The pager can do 2-tone or 5-tone decoding. In the Gx series you can customize the tone duration sequence. So let's say your FD is sending out a sequence of 4 tones that have a .5sec duration each (or whatever). You can create a tone setup to measure a tone group of .5secs and then indicate the hz frequency for those tones. So you'll still be decoding 2-tone but you select if you want it to be tones 1&2, 2&3, or 3&4 of a 4 tone set (I suggest only 1 group of two tones - not 3 separate setups as I listed).

I've mentioned on several occasions that I have my G5 setup to decode console alert tones groups. Some are of .3 secs; some are .5secs; and some are 1sec each. Once I knew (decoded) the actual frequency of the tones (using Audicity), I was able to create my tone profile and enter the tone frequencies. Works like a champ. The Gx series is very flexible with the configuration setups.
 

a417

!#
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
2,850
What department? Chances are they are using stacked QC-II tones and are paging out multiple groups, than using 4 tones for 1 group. So you could be hearing a A-B & C-D set which would be an A-B tone then a C-D tone in rapid succession.
 

RBMTS

Active Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2002
Messages
1,095
True, it could be stacked tones. If the tone sets have something like a 1sec pause between them, then they are stacked tones. Most public safety pagers operate like this. Each tone pair is for a specific station, or company. If the tones are one after the other with NO pause between them, you are probably hearing console alert tones (which is what I was assuming above).
 

RBMTS

Active Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2002
Messages
1,095
You have two different tone sets there, or "stacked" tones pairs. That is paging out different companies, stations, or personnel (i.e.: the BC). You can setup the pager as normal to alert on each those tone pairs without any problem. It is a classic 1sec/3sec tone group with a pause in between them.
 

RBMTS

Active Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2002
Messages
1,095
A little more on this. You can setup both (individually) and decide if you want the pager to decode both of them, or just just use one set for one of them. Lets say that tone set 1 is for EMS and the second tone set is for an engine company. Perhaps you don't care to have you pager go off for a call about a hang-nail, simply don't use the EMS tone group - then you'll only open the pager with the engine company tone set.

Maybe one of the tone sets is for the BC. If you only wanted to be alerted to higher level calls, then you can use just that tone set.

Either way, they are separate tone groups and you decide which one or both you want to be alerted to. You don't need all of them.
 

Golson2210

Member
Joined
May 4, 2006
Messages
98
Location
Brooklyn Park, MN
A little more on this. You can setup both (individually) and decide if you want the pager to decode both of them, or just just use one set for one of them. Lets say that tone set 1 is for EMS and the second tone set is for an engine company. Perhaps you don't care to have you pager go off for a call about a hang-nail, simply don't use the EMS tone group - then you'll only open the pager with the engine company tone set.

Maybe one of the tone sets is for the BC. If you only wanted to be alerted to higher level calls, then you can use just that tone set.

Either way, they are separate tone groups and you decide which one or both you want to be alerted to. You don't need all of them.
Thank you so much for explaining!!!
 

a417

!#
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
2,850
Yep, that's a stacked tone set. That is done at the console level.
 

SteveC0625

Order of the Golden Dino since 1972
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,755
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
You may want to find out what each tone pair is for. In many departments where I have lived one tone pair is for the pagers and another tone pair is for the fire siren. Other communities may use a tone pair for battalion chiefs, automatic mutual aid, all kinds of possibilities.
 

a417

!#
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
2,850
Yeah, that's a good point.

one particular dept I can confirm was
(AB) Duty Crew
(AC) Officers
(BC) Chiefs
(BD) Manpower
(CD) Passed call / request for cover
 

Golson2210

Member
Joined
May 4, 2006
Messages
98
Location
Brooklyn Park, MN
Thank You, I notice that all the AC tones are the same. SO if I just program those in, I will receive all pages? DO I have to do something with the ms settings?
 

a417

!#
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
2,850
if you have identified a common-element in the pairings, then yes...you program the one you choose. You should not have to change anything on timings, defaults are defaults for a reason.
 

mdsxfire

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
985
Location
New Jersey
as far as i know the current firmware will not alert to multiple stacked tones, it will alert/decode to whatever the first QC pair is and just play the tones without an actual alert for the rest. Unication is aware of this issue and hopefully is addressing it in the next firmware upgrade.
MY dept sends the same 2 pair 2575/1985 out in succession but the pager will only decode the first pair.
 

a417

!#
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
2,850
Why does it need to decode a second set of the same tones? This seems like a solution w/o a problem...

Any why does YOUR dept send duplicate tone sets out?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top